Super Rugby

Thumb_sharks-logo-80x50 Sharks


Thumb_bulls-logo-80x50 Bulls

Kick-off local time : Sat, 15 February 2014 - 19h10
Kick-off : Sat, 15 February 2014 - 19h10
Venue : Durban
Referee : Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Match status : Result
  Sharks Bulls
Tries Paul Jordaan (11min), Cobus Reinach (21min), and Patrick Lambie (83min) Jono Ross (72min)
Penalties Patrick Lambie (3min), Patrick Lambie (32min), and Patrick Lambie (47min)
Conversions Patrick Lambie (40min) Handre Pollard (73min)
Penalty tries
Yellow cards Jean Deysel (66min) Bjorn Basson (79min)
Red cards
Minute Commentary


Thanks for joining us and join us again next weekend for all the Super Rugby and Six Nations action as it happens!


TRY! The Sharks get their bonus point as Lambie crashes over in the corner. The conversion is wide and that's FULL-TIME!


Basson gets a YELLOW CARD for a deliberate knock down.


Steyn bulldozes poor Van Zyl as the Sharks go on the attack but the Bulls win a penalty on the deck. Lambie returns from a blood bin.


Coetzee again wins a turnover. He's been impressive in his new fetcher role.


Th Bulls finally get their TRY, Ross driven over from the line-out. Pollard kicks the CONVERSION!


Lambie leaves the field for blood so the Sharks will have to shuffle their backline.


Adriaanse saves the day as he wins a welcome penalty on the deck to deny the Bulls.


Deysel gets a YELLOW CARD for sacking the maul. Is this the opportunity the Bulls have been hoping for?


Mtawarira shakes off two defenders and offloads to Marais who's taken into touch.


The Sharks concede a scrum penalty so the Bulls get some much-needed respite. The Bulls stick to their kick-and-chase approach and knock-on the high ball.


Coetzee creates a turnover and Deysel powers ahead. Good interplay by forwards and backs nearly get the Sharks their fourth try but the ball is knocked out of Du Toit's hands in contact.


New man Van Zyl intercepts and almost goes all the way but the Sharks reel him in, win the turnover on the ground and clear their line.


The Sharks slowly build momentum with ball in hand, sucking the energy out of the Bulls. An aimless kick is easily fielded by Visser who kicks for touch.


Steyn makes a thumping tackle and wins a penalty. His battle with Serfontein has been extremely physical. He goes for goal again and again he's just short.


Matfield concedes a penalty in the line-out for playing Du Toit in the air. Steyn lines up a long-range effort and is just short.


The Sharks show the visitors off the ball, with Greyling playing the ball from an offside position. Lambie lands the PENALTY!


The Sharks attack down the blindside where Hougaard does good work on defence to dislodge the ball as Matfield makes him comeback after two years!


The Bulls gain 30m with a driving maul before Alberts is penalised for side entry. They go for goal this time only for Fouche to miss to the right.


The Bulls have a mountain to climb as Lambie starts the second half!


Visser puts a foot in touch as he attempts to kick down field so the Sharks will have one last chance. Steyn identifies space out wide and chips to Ndungane, who catches it out of the air and powers past Visser for a great TRY! Lambie adds the CONVERSION and it's the Sharks leading 23-9 at HALF-TIME!


Bismarck du Plessis misses his jumper and Reinach concedes a penalty on the deck. It's a brilliant long-range PENALTY by Fouche!


The Bulls attack with a typical line-out drive but are blown up for 'changing lanes'.


PENALTY! A shocking box kick by Hougaard puts his forwards offside and Lambie makes his pay.


Reinach finally relieves the pressure, fielding an up-and-under and finding touch in the Bulls' half.


Again, the Bulls go for the line-out but Visagie's throw isn't straight. The Sharks concede a free kick at the scrum but the Bulls knock-on.


It's strong defence by the Sharks put not without conceding a penalty. Bresler blown up with pulling Du Plessis' hair.


The Sharks collapse the driving maul and then come in from the side in the red zone. The Bulls turn down the kick at goal.


Lambie misses to the left but the Sharks lead 13-6.


Great pressure from Reinach on his opposite number sees the Sharks scrumhalf intercept Hougaard's pass and score a TMO award TRY!


Serfontein gets the hosts going with a strong run and they string together several phases. A loose ball is kicked ahead by Jordaan but the Bulls tidy up nicely. Bismarck du Plessis steals the ball and Mvovo gets possession but he's wrestled into touch.


The Bulls flood the breakdown and earn a kickable penalty for their efforts. Fouche, from near the half-way line, is wide.


Du Toit is back on as the Bulls manage a turnover and stretch the Sharks defence. The hosts are blown up, allowing Fouche to make it 8-6 with a PENALTY!


Jordaan scores the opening TRY, a great set move from the line-out with Mvovo slicing through and timing his pass perfectly. Lambie misses to the right!


Fouche coolly slots a long-range DROP-GOAL! Excellent strike!


Kankowski comes away with the ball at the line-out and Du Toit continues the momentum. The Sharks move up to the 22 where a knock-on slips in. Du Toit took a hard knock and leaves the field.


The Sharks go off their feet after a chip by Reinach put Fouche under pressure.


PENALTY! Coetzee wins a penalty for the Sharks and Lambie draws first blood!


Fouche makes the first mistake as he kicks out on the full after some big hits by the Sharks.


It’s Fouche who starts what should be a physically intense derby!


The odds are in the Sharks’ favour at home but one can never underestimate the Bulls, especially in a match that will see the return of the great Matfield from the bench. It’s hot and humid in Durban as we near game time!


The Sharks start a new era and are laden by Springboks while the Bulls are rebuilding having lost several senior players at the end of last year.


We are in Durban for the derby between Jake White’s Sharks and the Bulls!
15 SP Marais
14 JP Pietersen
13 Paul Jordaan
12 Frans Steyn
11 Lwazi Mvovo
10 Patrick Lambie
9 Cobus Reinach
8 Ryan Kankowski
7 Jean Deysel
6 Marcell Coetzee
5 Stephan Lewies
4 Willem Alberts
3 Jannie du Plessis
2 Bismarck du Plessis
1 Thomas Du Toit

23 Tonderai Chavhanga
22 S'bura Sithole
21 Charl McLeod
20 Tera Mtembu
19 Etienne Oosthuizen
18 Jacobie Adriaanse
17 Dale Chadwick
16 Kyle Cooper
15 Jurgen Visser
14 Bjorn Basson
13 JJ Engelbrecht
12 Jan Serfontein
11 Francois Hougaard
10 Handre Pollard
9 Piet van Zyl
8 Jacques Engelbrecht
7 Jono Ross
6 Roelof Smit
5 Victor Matfield
4 Paul Willemse
3 Marcel van der Merwe
2 Bandise Maku
1 Morne Mellett

23 William Small-Smith
22 Jacques-Louis Potgieter
21 Jesse Kriel
20 Marvin Orie
19 Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg,
18 Dean Greyling
17 Werner Kruger
16 Callie Visagie