Thumb_scotland-ed Scotland


Thumb_italy-ed Italy

Kick-off local time : Sat, 22 June 2013 - 14h15
Kick-off : Sat, 22 June 2013 - 14h15
Venue : Pretoria
Referee : Leighton Hodges (Wales)
Match status : Result
  Scotland Italy
Tries Leonardo Sarto (1min)
Penalty tries 31min
Yellow cards
Red cards
Minute Commentary


Thanks for joining us and be sure to catch our live coverage of the Springbok game against Samoa.


TRY! After the hooter Strokosch breaks the line - Parisse jumping the gun - and scores. Laidlaw steps up and nails the match-winning CONVERSION! What a finish!


Scotland get another chance though as they win a scrum penalty and set up a line-out. This time Brown finds the target and Visser makes ground. The Scots take it through multiple phases but Pyrgos is caught ball and all and knocks on.


The throw-in isn't straight - bad mistake by Brown.


Masi again breaks away on the counter only to be isolated and concede a turnover.


Parisse lucky to get away with some borderline foul play there. Italy win the scrum penalty so Di Bernardo relieves the pressure.


Scotland showing a sense of urgency on attack with Lamont showing some fancy footwork. They turn down a kick at goal and maul it up from the line-out. Laidlaw picks up and dives over but loses the ball in the air.


Murray takes out Furno in the air, allowing Di Bernardo to kick at goal and this time he nails the PENALTY!


Botes is happy to keep Italy in Scotland's half with the boot as the pace of the match slows down.


Di Bernardo misses his first kick of the afternoon following a scrum penalty.


Denton throws a shocking forward pass on the hour-mark.


Scotland concede back-to-back penalties to put Di Bernardo in kicking distance - just, from 50 metres out on the angle - and he slots the PENALTY!


With an all-new Italy front row on, Scotland manage to win a scrum turnover from where Scott runs clean through but Visser's pass went forward so no try.


A kicking battle results in a Scottish line-out in Italy's half. The Scots go wide from the line-out to Visser but he can't hold on.


The Scots try a chip kick. It bounces for Dunbar who collects but a hit by Masi dislodges the ball.


Scotland attack through 10 phases but Italy's defence holds firm. They pounce on a loose ball and Botes clears.


Masi speeds away following a turnover but he is isolated and is penalised for holding on.


It's all-square once again as Di Bernardo kicks the PENALTY after the Scots infringe at the breakdown.


Italy are immediately blown up for holding on and Laidlaw lands the PENALTY!


Heathcote starts the second half. Who will push on and win this one?


Denton knocks on in contact so we're deadlocked 20-20 at HALF-TIME!


Dickinson gives Di Bernardo a chance to draw Italy level by not rolling away and the Azzurri flyhalf slots the long-range PENALTY!


A brilliant passage of play by Scotland sees Sgarbi stray offside. Laidlaw kicks the PENALTY but the Scots would feel they were on their way to a try.


The Castrogiovanni-led Italy scrum win a PENALTY TRY after forcing three consecutive penalties out of Scotland. Di Bernardo's CONVERSION levels the scores.


Sarto does well down the left wing and flings a pass inside, which is tapped back and dotted down by Seymour so Italy will have a 5-metre scrum.


Swinson interceps just outside his 22 and passes to Beattie but the loose forward knocks on.


Di Bernardo kicks Italy 5 metres from the Scottish line, perfectly weighted. But the Scots take it quickly and clear.


Heathcote is caught offside inside his 22. Parisse takes a quick tap and flings a pass out wide and straight into touch so an opportunity lost there.


Barbieri is pinged at the breakdown which sees Laidlaw pop over the PENALTY!


TRY! Beautiful hands by Scott puts Lamont into space and he does well. The Scots chip ahead and Denton just can't collect. Venditti cynically tries to run from his try-line only to cough up the ball and Lamont just has to pick up and dot down. The CONVERSION by Laidlaw is good.


PENALTY! The first much-anticipated scrum goes down and Italy get the penalty the second time round - Murray the guilty party. Di Bernardo kicks Italy back into the lead.


Di Bernardo kicks a bomb just outside the 22 and Masi can't hold on so it'll be a scrum for Italy.


Scotland collapse the maul so Italy will attack from a line-out roughly 35 metres out.


TRY! Swinson breaks the line and offloads to Scott who has the easiest of run ins - terrible defence by Italy! Laidlaw adds the CONVERSION and we're all square.


Italy this time can't control the restart. The ball goes wide where Scott tries to link up with Seymour but his pass goes into touch from where Italy clear their line.


Di Bernardo adds the CONVERSION so it's a perfect start for Italy.


TRY! Italy regain the ball from the kick-off and debutant Sarto scores from a drift!


Di Bernardo gets us underway at Loftus Versfeld.


It’s all about pride and taking something positive back home. Who will come out on top at the neutral venue? We are moments away from kick-off...


As a result, senior players will need to stand up and be counted. For Scotland, stand-in skipper Laidlaw and flank Strokosch have to continue where they left off against the Springboks last weekend. For Italy, captain Parisse, tighthead Castrogiovanni and fullback Masi have to inspire their team.


Both teams have been disappointing in South Africa, their Six Nations exploits perhaps taking its toll on the players with a number of injuries diluting both sides.


Welcome to our build up to the third-place play-off in the four-nation tournament between Scotland and Italy in Pretoria.
15 Stuart Hogg
14 Sean Maitland
13 Nick de Luca
12 Peter Horne
11 Tommy Seymour
10 Duncan Weir
9 Henry Pyrgos
8 Adam Ashe
7 Chris Fusaro
6 Robert Harley
5 Grant Gilchrist
4 Tim Swinson
3 Geoff Cross
2 Ross Ford
1 Alasdair Dickinson

23 Peter Murchie
22 Dougie Fife
21 Grayson Hart
20 Tyrone Holmes
19 Jonny Gray
18 Euan Murray
17 Moray Low
16 Kevin Bryce
15 Luke McLean
14 Angelo Esposito
13 Michele Campagnaro
12 Gonzalo Garcia
11 Leonardo Sarto
10 Luciano Orquera
9 Tito Tebaldi
8 Sergio Parisse
7 Robert Barbieri
6 Joshua Furno
5 Marco Bortolami
4 Quintin Geldenhuys
3 Lorenzo Cittadini
2 Leonardo Ghiraldini
1 Matias Aguero

23 Andrea Masi
22 Tommaso Allan
21 Edoardo Gori
20 Paul Derbyshire
19 George Biagi
18 Alberto De Marchi
17 Michele Rizzo
16 Davide Giazzon