Currie Cup

Thumb_wp_graphic80x50 Western Province


Thumb_bulls_graphic80x50 Blue Bulls

Kick-off local time : Sat, 10 August 2013 - 17h05
Kick-off : Sat, 10 August 2013 - 17h05
Venue : Cape Town
Referee : Rasta Rasivhenge
Match status : Result
  Western Province Blue Bulls
Tries Gio Aplon (8min) Francois Venter (68min)
Penalty tries
Yellow cards
Red cards
Minute Commentary


What a dramatic way to cap an exciting opening round of the Currie Cup season! Thanks for joining us and join us again next week for live coverage of all the big matches!


WP chip ever closer to drop-goal range but the Bulls secure the turnover and hoof it into touch. That's FULL-TIME! It's all-square at Newlands!


Jantjies to win it from the right-hand corner...he misses to the right! There's time for a restart...


Cook scores an incredible TRY in the corner to silence the Newlands faithful. Sheer speed and power!


PENALTY! WP finally get some territory and De Allende shows good leg strength to drive upfield. The Bulls are blown up for not rolling away and Van Aswegen kicks the three points.


PENALTY! WP go off their feet and this time Jantjies raises the flags and makes it a two-point ball game.


The Bulls win another scrum penalty after Van Aswegen again overcooked the restart. Jantjies, however, misses the kick at goal.


The Bulls opt for the scrum and again attack with excellent continuity. After 12+ phases Venter scores the visitors' first TRY - a crucial score at this stage of the game. Jantjies curls in the important CONVERSION to put his team in a position to snatch victory.


Mastriet canters down the right wing, showing great pace. WP try to win it on the ground only to concede a penalty.


Visser injects some life into the Bulls backline before Jantjies is forced into touch.


New signing Murray drops the ball after a multi-phase attack by the Bulls.


WP turn down the kick at goal. The Bulls defend the driving maul but Carr strolls over under the poles. Poor defence by the Bulls and a TRY for WP! Van Aswegen adds the easy CONVERSION!


WP look threatening as Van Aswegen sparks a counter attack. De Allende floats a pass to Kolbe who falls over Aplon and is met by a dangerous clean out by Paige, who is penalised.


It's WP who are now shaken up as Van Aswegen's restart goes straight into touch.


PENALTY! De Allende is penalised for not showing daylight so Jantjies grabs the first points of the second half and some reward for a dominant period by the Bulls.


Still the Bulls come. Ross pops a pass over the top for an unmarked Visser who dots down in the corner but the pass drifted forwards.


Du Plessis makes a strong run on the angle but his offload doesn't go to hand.


This time the Bulls get the penalty after a strong second shove.


It's another dominant Bulls scrum but they are blown up so WP kick down field. Hattingh does well defending the maul and wins a scrum feed for holding up the ball carrier.


Mastriet loses the ball into touch after a good attacking sequence.


The Bulls, with a power scrum, win a penalty.


Van Aswegen starts the second stanza and Van den Heever knocks on as he contests the kick-off.


Aplon chips into space after the restart. He and Kolbe chase but Jantjies saves the day as he hacks the ball into touch. That's HALF-TIME! WP lead 14-6!


Schreuder sparks an attacking opportunity with a quick tap and finds Kolbe who dances past a couple of defenders. Van Aswegen goes for a drop-goal but it's away.


Van Aswegen settles things down with a good clearance.


WP win their line-out but are blown up for truck-and-trailer so they find themselves back near their own 22 where Wepener's throw isn't straight. So, it's been a scrappy period of play.


Fourie gives away another penalty. It's out of range so the Bulls set up the line-out only to concede a penalty for obstruction.


WP weather the storm and surge into the 22 after Van Aswegen fielded his own high bomb but a knock-on allows Paige to clear.


The Bulls growing in confidence as they again take the ball through multiple phases.


The Bulls keep it hand this time and open up space for Mastriet who does well. It's relentless stuff by the Bulls - 18 phases - before Fourie is blown up at the breakdown. Jantjies lands the PENALTY!


Jantjies and then Paige kicks too deep so the execution isn't there for the Bulls at this stage, making it easy for Aplon at the back.


Liebenberg knocks a regular pass and it's apparent these young Bulls are rattled.


The Bulls come away with it only to knock-on and Howard scores a brilliant set-piece TRY from the resulting scrum, De Allende drawing two defenders and Howard stepping the final defender. Van Aswegen adds the CONVERSION!


Fourie into the action as he chips ahead but Visser is on hand to clear.


Kolbe beats a couple of defenders with good footwork but a forward pass by Van Aswegen concedes possession.


Elstadt sack the maul illegally so Jantjies lines up his first shot at goal at Currie Cup level...he slots the PENALTY!


Kolbe is well positioned and clears. Good tactical play by the debutant as he sums up the situation.


Van Aswegen adds the CONVERSION and WP are off to a perfect start.


The Bulls are pinged at scrum time so Aplon hunts field position. Fourie breaks and makes good ground from the line-out, into the 22. WP launch a full blown assault on the Bulls line and ultimately Aplon steps, ducks and scores the opening TRY!


WP come in from the side as the Bulls get their drive going. Visser lines up a long-range kick at goal but it's well wide.


Paige concedes a free kick for a crooked feed of the scrum so WP clear.


Jantjies gets us underway and Carr drops the kick-off.


It's the defending champions against a young and inexperienced Bulls side. Conditions are good as we near kick-off.


The north-south derby will wrap up the opening round of the Currie Cup.
Western Province
15 Gio Aplon
14 Gerhard van den Heever
13 Jean de Villiers
12 Damian de Allende
11 Cheslin Kolbe
10 Demetri Catrakilis
9 Louis Schrueder
8 Duane Vermeulen
7 Siya Kolisi
6 Deon Fourie
5 De Kock Steenkamp
4 Eben Etzebeth
3 Patric Cilliers
2 Siyabonga Ntubeni
1 Steven Kitshoff

22 Juan de Jongh
21 Kurt Coleman
20 Nic Groom
19 Schalk Burger
18 Michael Rhodes
17 Brok Harris
16 Frans Malherbe
Blue Bulls
15 Jurgen Visser
14 Akona Ndungane
13 JJ Engelbrecht
12 Jan Serfontein
11 Bjorn Basson
10 Handre Pollard
9 Rudi Paige
8 Jacques Engelbrecht
7 Jacques du Plessis
6 Jono Ross
5 David Bullbring
4 Paul Willemse
3 Frik Kirsten
2 Bongi Mbonambi
1 Marcel van der Merwe

22 Clayton Blommetjies
21 Francois Venter
20 Lohan Jacobs
19 Jean Cook
18 Grant Hattingh
17 Werner Kruger
16 Bandise Maku