Currie Cup

Thumb_bulls_graphic80x50 Blue Bulls


Thumb_sharks_graphic80x50 Sharks

Kick-off local time : Fri, 04 October 2013 - 19h10
Kick-off : Fri, 04 October 2013 - 19h10
Venue : Pretoria
Referee : Marius van der Westhuizen
Match status : Result
  Blue Bulls Sharks
Tries Francois Venter (61min)
Penalties Handre Pollard (12min), Handre Pollard (33min), and Handre Pollard (66min) Fred Zeilinga (10min), Fred Zeilinga (13min), Fred Zeilinga (28min), and Fred Zeilinga (44min)
Conversions Handre Pollard (62min)
Penalty tries
Yellow cards Jacques Botes (35min)
Red cards
Minute Commentary


Thanks for joining us and be sure to catch our live coverage of all tomorrow's Currie Cup and Rugby Championship action!


Ross takes the Bulls deep into the Sharks half but the Bulls knock-on and Mvovo puts the ball into touch. That's FULL-TIME! The Sharks snatch a late win!


The Bulls concede a free kick at the scrum and again that man Willermse is penalised, his time for not rolling away. James with the kick ... he lands the PENALTY! What drama!


The Sharks try to get a driving maul going only for the Bulls to force a turnover. Will the hosts be able to hang on?


Ndungane charges down a chip by Basson and sets off down the right wing but he's forced into touch.


The Bulls fly over the top of the maul - Willemse the culprit - but James doesn't get much distance with his line kick.


Pollard can't find touch and Venter is pinged so the Sharks decide to eat up some to and kick at goal. James lands the PENALTY as Deysel returns!


McLeod makes a brilliant break and Ndungane makes an important tackle on his 22 which sees the Sharks scrumhalf knock-on.


The Bulls get their driving maul going and win a good 30 metres before the Sharks sack it illegally. Pollard lands the PENALTY!


The Sharks get the penalty for hands in the ruck. The TMO is called in to check whether McLeod stamped on a Bulls player's hand. He's adjudged to have done so so the penalty is reversed.


Daniel contests the line-out but knocks on so the Bulls attack from the scrum where Venter stretches to score the opening TRY! Pollard adds the CONVERSION to put the Bulls in the lead!


Deysel gets a YELLOW CARD for side entry at the maul.


It goes pear-shaped for the Sharks as McLeod's pass misses a line of eager runners and rolls into touch.


The Bulls concede another turnover, their seventh, as the Sharks hold up the maul in midfield and Marais pins the hosts in their 22 with a good kick.


It's a massive scrum from the Sharks and they are rewarded with a penalty and James clears.


Ross makes a strong run from the back of the scrum and the Sharks stray offside as they scramble on defence. The Bulls go for the line-out and almost score but the ball is held up.


The Bulls put some phases together before the Sharks force a maul but the hosts will feed the scrum as the visitors clear their bench.


The dominant Bulls scrum smash the Sharks yet again but Pollard pulls the penalty.


The Sharks come away with the ball from another misfiring Bulls line-out. The visitors build great momentum - 11 phases in all. They can't breach the Bulls line but they do get the PENALTY and Zeilinga puts it between the uprights as Botes returns.


Pollard starts the second half with the Sharks still down to 14 men!


The Sharks are let off the hook as the Bulls knock-on in the 22. So at HALF-TIME it's the Sharks who lead 9-6!


The 14-man Sharks do well to keep possession while a number of restart scrums eat up time but the Bulls win the scrum penalty.


Botes is YELLOW CARDED for not rolling away after the Sharks were given a team warning.


The Bulls win a PENALTY with a power scrum and Pollard makes no mistake.


The Sharks try a wrap-around backline move to Marais who stabs ahead at full pace and straight into touch.


The Sharks dart into the Bulls 22 where Venter is blown up. Zeilinga nails the PENALTY!


The Sharks concede a penalty at scrum time so Pollard lines up an ambitious long-range kick but it's well short.


The Sharks concede a penalty at the line-out and the Bulls set up another only for Mbonambi to be blown up for a skew throw, which allows Zeilinga to clear from the scrum.


Pollard cops a high tackle from Marais and the Bulls decide to turn down the three points.


The Sharks up the tempo on attack but Liebenberg wins a turnover and Pollard finds touch.


Reinach charges down a kick and the ball rolls in goal. Reinach bolts but Basson is on hand to save the day for the hosts.


Zeilinga immediately replies with a PENALTY!


PENALTY! Pollard levels the scores after a penalty against Daniel.


PENALTY! It's third time lucky for Zeilinga after Willemse was caught not rolling way.


The Bulls make a meal of a defensive line-out inside their 22 and are blown up at the resulting scrum. Zeilinga steps up and again he misses an easy kick.


The Sharks breakaway from a turnover and it takes a good tackle by Small-Smith to stop the surge. It's a penalty against the Bulls but Zeilinga's effort is wide.


Pollard goes for a drop-goal but it's just wide.


Zeilinga gets us underway!


It’s a perfect warm evening in Pretoria so we should be in for a cracker.


Basson is back for the hosts who have also made changes to their front row with Mbonambi and Kirsten replacing Maku and Kruger. The Sharks also welcome back a Bok in Coetzee, although he’ll feature off the bench. In other changes, Botes and Deysel boost the back row where Daniel will be playing in his 100th game, and Reinach starts at scrumhalf.


The Bulls face a must-win scenario to keep their play-off hopes alive while the Sharks are playing for a home semifinal.


Welcome to our build-up to this important clash between the Blue Bulls and the Sharks at Loftus.
Blue Bulls
15 Jurgen Visser
14 Akona Ndungane
13 JJ Engelbrecht
12 Jan Serfontein
11 Bjorn Basson
10 Handre Pollard
9 Rudi Paige
8 Jacques Engelbrecht
7 Jacques du Plessis
6 Jono Ross
5 David Bullbring
4 Paul Willemse
3 Frik Kirsten
2 Bongi Mbonambi
1 Marcel van der Merwe

22 Clayton Blommetjies
21 Francois Venter
20 Lohan Jacobs
19 Jean Cook
18 Grant Hattingh
17 Werner Kruger
16 Bandise Maku
15 SP Marais
14 Odwa Ndungane
13 Louis Ludik
12 Frans Steyn
11 Lwazi Mvovo
10 Patrick Lambie
9 Charl McLeod
8 Keegan Daniel
7 Willem Alberts
6 Marcell Coetzee
5 Pieter-Steph du Toit
4 Peet Marais
3 Jannie du Plessis
2 Bismarck du Plessis
1 Tendai Mtawarira

22 Heimar Williams
21 Fred Zeilinga
20 Cobus Reinach
19 Jacques Botes
18 Stephan Lewies
17 Wiehahn Herbst
16 Kyle Cooper