Fresh start for new-look Scotland

Sat, 02 Jun 2012 11:53

Scotland coach Andy Robinson has made six changes to the team that lost to Italy in the Six Nations for the clash with Australia in Newcastle on Tuesday.

Glasgow Warriors prop Ryan Grant will play his first Test and there will be a first start for Edinburgh's 21-year-old centre Matt Scott while two other uncapped players, Edinburgh outside back Tom Brown and Glasgow lock Tom Ryder, were named among the replacements.

Left out the team that lost 13-6 to Italy in Rome in March were forwards Jon Welsh, Geoff Cross, Jim Hamilton and David Denton and backs Max Evans and Graeme Morrison.

They were replaced by Grant, Euan Murray, Al Kellock, Alasdair Strokosch, Joe Ansbro and Scott respectively.

In a positional switch John Barclay will move from blindside flank to No.8.

Some of the changes were enforced with Denton ruled out through injury, while Evans was with his club in France.

Scotland coach coach Andy Robinson said the selection was based around a desire to improve Scotland's fortunes after finishing with the wooden spoon in this year's Six Nations.

"We were all very disappointed by the results in the Six Nations and this tour is about our strong collective determination to put that right, play with confidence and win back pride," Robinson said.

"There's been an intensity to training since we've been out here which has pleased me but, as ever, it's about delivering a consistent 80 minute performance and eliminating the sort of errors that have cost us dearly if we are to beat Australia," he added.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Joe Ansbro, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Greig Laidlaw, 9 Mike Blair, 8 John Barclay, 7 Ross Rennie, 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Richie Gray, 4 Alastair Kellock, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford (captain),1 Ryan Grant.       
Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Jon Welsh, 18 Tom Ryder, 19 Richie Vernon, 20 Chris Cusiter, 21 Duncan Weir, 22 Tom Brown.

Date: Tuesday, June 5
Venue: Ausgrid Stadium, Newcastle
Kick-off: 20.30 (10.30 GMT)
Referee: TBC