Huge score in Bethlehem

Tue, 24 Jul 2012 13:30

In their FNB Classic Clash in Bethlehem last Saturday, Bethlehem Voortrekker beat neighbours Witteberg 74-5.

At half-time Bethlehem Voortrekker led 38-0. They were expected to win but this score surpasses expectation.

Bethlehem Voortrekker's forwards dominated the match, with the result that Witteberg saw hardly any ball and their backs had many opportunities. Bethlehem Voortrekker scored 12 tries to Witteberg's one and that an intercept try.

Despite the high-scoring match Bethlehem Voortrekker stuck to their structures and produced an excellent performance.

Tighthead Henco van der Westhuizen was named Man of the Match, but the captain, eighthman Oelof Stander was also outstanding. Flyhalf Meyer Maré, who kicked seven conversions, also had a good game, as did Elof Scheepers, son of Eben, who stood in at scrumhalf for the injured Crause Becker, a Craven Week player.

The scorers:

For Bethlehem Voortrekker:

Tries: Henco van der Westhuizen 2, Schalk Erasmus 2, André Janse van Vuuren, Oelof Stander 2, Elof Scheepers, Tjokkie Odendaal, Wian van der Watt, Junior Smit, Cardo Meiring (substitute)
Cons: Meyer Maré 7

For Witteberg:
Try: Donavin Lourens

The teams:

Voortrekker: 15 Sechaba Matsoele, 14 Johan van Heerden, 13 Junior Smit, 12 Wian van der Watt, 11 Tjokkie Odendaal, 10 Meyer Maré, 9 Elof Scheepers, 8 Oelof Stander (captain), 7 Louis van der Walt, 6 André Janse van Vuuren, 5 Gerhard van Rooyen, 4 Schalk Erasmus, 3 Henco van der Westhuizen, 2 Drikus du Toit, 1 Ernie Sumner.
Replacements: 16 MotsitsI Lekoaba, 17 Palm Maree, 18 Tielman Malherbe, 19 Robert de Jongh, 20 Ruanco Pelser, 21 JC Moolman, 22 Cardo Meiring.

Coaches: Dawie Mathee, Hennie Pelster

Witteberg: 15 JC van Biljon, 14 Xola Jacobs, 13 Donovan Lourens, 12 Clive de Jongh, 11 Stephan Maree, 10 Gerhard Nel, 9 Tiaan Ferreira, 8 Tsepo Motsoeneng, 7 Hansie Crouse, 6 Ludwig Swarts, 5 Jonathan Dedekind, 4 Michael Spershott, 3 Lambert Rautenbach, 2 George Steyn, 1 Stian Redelinghuys (captain).
Replacements: 16 Brandon van Staden, 17 Mpho Mazibuko, 18 Christiaan de Jongh, 19 Arrie Desidereo, 20 Rynardt Chapman, 21 Wiaan Pittendrich, 22 Gerhard van Huyssteen.

NB. The following Bethlehem Voortrekker players made representative teams:

Griffons Craven Week team: Henco van der Westhuizen, Ernie Sumner, André Janse van Vuuren, Oelof Stander, Crause Becker, Johan van Heerden and Schaba Matsoele. Junior Smit was chosen but had to withdraw after damaging ankle ligaments in the Bondedag. Christo Wessels was regarded as a certainty for Craven Week till he tore knee ligaments. Great things are expected of him.

Griffons Academy team: Meyer Maré, Wian van der Watt, Gerhard van Rooyen, Louis van der Walt.

Griffons Under-19: Schalk Erasmus, Tjokkie Odendaal.

Newsletter Subscription
Subscribe now to Rugby365 and you'll be able to receive our informative newsletters and access special promotions.