NZ name two schools sides

Thu, 20 Sep 2012 16:27
Large rugby ball 630

New Zealand has named two teams for the three matches against the Australian touring team and against Samoa. All three matches will be played in Auckland.

New Zealand has named two teams for the three matches against the Australian touring team and against Samoa. All three matches will be played in Auckland.

The New Zealand Barbarians are first up, playing Australian Schools. as a curtainraiser to the match between New Zealand Schools and Samoan Schools.  On the second match day, the New Zealand Barbarians play Samoan Schools while New Zealand Schools play Australia.

Otago Boys' High of Dunedin has most players in the New Zealand Secondary Schools side - four in all. They have another two players in the Barbarians team. There could have been one more but flank Josh Dickson had to withdraw from the team after breaking three bones in his left hand in the top-four final against St Kentigern College last Saturday.

The national champions,  Saint Kentigern has two representatives in the New Zealand team and a further three in the Barbarians squad.
Wellington College, notwithstanding not making it to the National Top Four, nor winning Wellington Premier One, came in third best with four boys selected (two in each team).
Sacred Heart College, King's College and Wesley College all have three representatives across the two squads.  Sacred Heart has two in the main team, King's one. All three of Wesley's representatives were named in the Barbarians team.
New Zealand Secondary Schools

Vince Aso (St Peter's College)
Jamie Booth (Palmerston North Boys' High School)
Lachlan Boshier (New Plymouth Boys' High School)
Troy Callander (Otago Boys' High School)
Tim Cleaver (St Kentigern College)
Sinclair Dominikovich (King’s College)
So’otala Fa’aso’o (Papatoetoe High School)
Alex Fitzgerald (Otago Boys' High School)
Jackson Garden-Bachop (Scots College)
Broc Hooper (St Kentigern College)
Tevita Li (Massey High School)
Tom McHugh (Sacred Heart College)
Reuben O’Neil (New Plymouth Boys' High School)
Sekonaia Pole (Otago Boys' High School)
Josh Renton (Otago Boys' High School)
Vincent Sakaria (Wellington College)
Trinity Spooner-Neera (Napier Boys' High School)
Etimani Sului) Wellington College)
Sam Thomas (Sacred Heart College)
James Tucker (St Bede’s College)
Matt Vaega (Kelston Boys' High School)
Beaudein Waaka (Gisborne Boys' High School)
Regan Ware (Hamilton Boys' High School)

New Zealand Secondary Schools Barbarians

Bram Egli (King’s College)
Leon Fukofuka (Kelston Boys' High School)
Mitchell Karpik (King’s College)
Tau Kolomatangi (Wesley College)
Luteru Laulala (Wesley College)
Seluini Molia (Wesley College)
Liam Polwart (Sacred Heart College)
Jack Falloon (St Kentigern College)
TJ Fiane (St Kentigern College)
Dillon Wihongi (St Kentigern College)
Michael Green (Christchurch Boys' High School)
Billy Harmon (St Bede’s College)
Damian McKenzie (Christ’s College)
Sean Connor (Otago Boys' High School)
Aleki Morris (Otago Boys' High School)
Mitchell Jacobson (Cambridge High School)
Wade McLean-Te Huia (Hamilton Boys' High School)
Kerry Love (Napier Boys' High School)
Mitchell Drummond (Nelson College)
Otere Black (Tu Toa)
Jordon Brown (Feilding High School)
Ezekiel Sopoaga (Wellington College)
Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Wellington College)
Richard Mo’unga (St Andrew's College)


29 September

12.30: \NZ Barbarians vs Australian Schools
14.30: NZ Schools vs Samoa Schools

6 October
12.30: NZ Barbarians vs Samoa Schools
14.30: NZ Schools vs Australian Schools