Fiji President's beat Aus Schools

Mon, 24 Sep 2012 10:11

On a hot afternoon at Prince Charles Park, Nadi, Fiji, the Fijian president's XV beat the Australian Schools team 18-9 in the opening match of the Australians' five-match tour.

The home side attacked from the start but the Australians scored first when hooker (sic) Tom Wilson goaled a penalty when hooker Jovesa Nataqirivitukalulu was penalised and sin-binned for a high tackle. The home side's flyhalf Akuila Tabualevu levelled the scores to make if 3-all at half-time.

Two tries in the second half to two penalty goals took the score to 15-9 but a penalty at the death made the game safe for the Fijians. It was flank Setareki Koroitamana's try from an intercept and a 75-metre dash early in the half that set up the famous victory.

In the match the bigger Australians dominated line-outs and scrums but the Fijians were heroic  on defence.
It is the first time that a Fijian team had beaten the Australian schools since the initial meeting in 2003.


For Fijian President's XV

Tries: Setareki Koroitamana, Jovesa Nataqirivitukalulu
Con: Akuila Tabualevu
Pens: Akuila Tabualevu, Ratucawa Maciu

For Australian Schools:
Pens: Tom Wilson 2, Reece Hodge


Fiji President's XV:
15 Sekove Lili, 14 Apenisa Buka, 13 Viliesa Varawa, 12 Moisese Serevakayakavi, 11 Viliame Kikau, 10 Akuila Tabualevu, 9  Adriu Navia, 8 Vincent Fisher (captain), 7 Setareki Koroitamana, 6 Semi Ratucoka, 5 Kemueli Tokalau, 4 Pita Nacagilevu,  3 Atunaisa Rakota, 2 Jovesa Nataqirivitukalulu, 1 Eparama Turaga.
Replacements: 16 Alipate Botabota, 17 Savenaca Komaisavai, 18 Richard Matakiwai, 19 Tevita Kasikasi, 20 Jeremaia Nakete, 21 Kelemedi Lenati, 22 Naibuka Nakavo, 23 Ratucawa Maciu Vocea, 24 Apimeleki Vunaki

Australian Sschools: 15 John Porch, 14 Gareth Kalell, 13 Andrew Robinson., 12 Tepai Moeroa, 11 Andrew Kellaway, 10 Reece Hodge, 9 Andrew Ferris, 8 Lolo Fakaosilea, 7 Brad Wilkin, 6  Adam Korczyk, 5 Jack Cornelsen, 4 Tom Staniforth,  3 Matt Sandell, 2  Tom Wilson (captain), 1 Tomas Robertson.
Replacements: 16 Siotame Kavapalu, 17 Francois Postal, 18 Neori Nadruku, 19 Mitchell Whiteley, 20 Jack Dempsey, 21 Jack Tuttle, 22 Jonah Placid

Newsletter Subscription
Subscribe now to Rugby365 and you'll be able to receive our informative newsletters and access special promotions.