Aussie Schools in great win

Mon, 08 Oct 2012 21:22
Large super rugby ball 630

Australian Schools turned it on to beat New Zealand Schools 16-14 at Auckland Grammar School on Saturday.

Beaten in two of their four tour matches, Australian Schools turned it on to beat New Zealand Schools 16-14 at Auckland Grammar School on Saturday. It was only the second time they have beaten New Zealand schools in New Zealand and their fourth win over New Zealand in six years.

Australia scored first when their captain Tom Wilson goaled a penalty and they went further ahead when fullback Jonah Placid broke and send Andrew Robinson over for a try and the visitors led 8-0 after 7 minutes.

But the New Zealanders over took them. Broc Hooper kicked two penalties and  Sului Etimani scored a try so that New Zealand led 11-8 at half-time.

Australia scored a penalty goal in the second half and then Hooper put his side back in the lead. A brilliant kick won the game. Flyhalf Jake McIntyre kicked a diagonal which centre Jim Stewart gathered. He passed to Jonah Placid who scored the winning try.

There were still 10 minutes to play and New Zealand went on the attack but were twice penalised near the Australian line. Australia held out.


For Australian Schools:

Tries: Andrew Robinson, Jonah Placid
Pens: Tom Wilson 2

For New Zealand Schools:
Try: Sului Etimani
Pens: Broc Hooper 2


New Zealand Schools:
Vince Aso, Jamie Booth, Lachlan Boshier, Troy Callander, Tim Cleaver, Sinclair Dominikovich, So’otala Fa’aso’o, Alex Fitzgerald, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Broc Hooper, Tevita Li, Tom McHugh, Reuben O’Neil, Sekonaia Pole, Josh Renton, Vincent Sakaria, Trinity Spooner-Neera, Etimani Sului, Sam Thomas, James Tucker, Matt Vaega, Beaudein Wa'aka, Regan Ware

Australian Schools: 15 Jonah Placid, 14 Andrew Robinson, 13 Jim Stewart, 12 Jack Tuttle, 11 John Porch, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Angus Pulver, 8 Mitchell Whiteley, 7 Michael Gunn, 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Tom Staniforth, 3 Matt Sandell, 2 Tom Wilson (captain), 1 Aaron Pleash.
Replacements: 16 Tomas Robertson, 17 François Postal, 18 Siotame Kavapalu, 19 Adam Korczyk, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 Andrew Ferris, 22 Tepai Moeroa, 23 Andrew Kellaway.

Referee: Kane McBride  (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Steve Piacin (New Zealand), James Imlach (New Zealand)