England

Wallaby lock in hot water

Mon, 12 Nov 2012 18:29
Robsimmonsportrait Robsimmonswallabiestraining

Wallaby lock Rob Simmons could miss Saturday’s Test against England at Twickenham after being cited for a dangerous tackle.

Simmons, who came on as a replacement, was cited by South Africa's Freek Burger for a dangerous tip tackle on France's Yannick Nyanga midway through the second half of Saturday's international at the Stade de France, won by France 33-6.

During the course of that match, Welsh referee Nigel Owens was heard apologising to the France team for the officials' failure to issue a red card for the challenge on Nyanga as they could not identify tackler Simmons.

Simmons’ hearing will be held before an independent IRB-appointed Judicial Officer in London on Wednesday.

RELATED ARTICLES
Newsletter Subscription
Subscribe now to Rugby365 and you'll be able to receive our informative newsletters and access special promotions.