Three new caps for Ireland

Thu, 15 Nov 2012 15:10
Jamie-heaslip-ireland-looks Heaslip-_-kidmey-630 Mikerossirelandtraining
Just three remain from Bok loss

The Ireland XV to play Fiji at Thomond Park in Saturday's non-cap international has three uncapped players.

Mike Ross, Conor Murray and newly-appointed captain Jamie Heaslip are the only players retained from the Ireland team that started in the 12-16 loss to South Africa last weekend.

Former Ireland Under-20 international Paddy Jackson (No.10) will partner Murray (No.9) at halfback, with his Ulster colleagues Luke Marshall and Darren Cave forming the centre partnership outside him.

The back three comprises of the uncapped Craig Gilroy on the left wing, with Fergus McFadden on the right and Denis Hurley at fullback.

David Kilcoyne, who won his first cap last weekend, will pack down alongside Sean Cronin and Ross in the front row, while Dan Tuohy and the 89-times capped Donncha O'Callaghan will link up in the second row.

Heaslip anchors the scrum with Iain Henderson, a debutant as a replacement against the Springboks, and John Muldoon taking the blindside and openside flanks respectively.

Ireland: 15 Denis Hurley, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Darren Cave, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Craig Gilroy, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip (captain), 7 John Muldoon, 6 Iain Henderson, 5 Dan Tuohy, 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Sean Cronin, 1 David Kilcoyne.
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Donncha Ryan, 20 Chris Henry, 21 Paul Marshall, 22 Jonathan Sexton, 23 Simon Zebo.

Date: Saturday, November 17
Venue: Thomond Park, Limerick
Kick-off: 17.30 (17.30 GMT)
Referee: Leighton Hodges (Wales)
Assistant referees: Neil Hennessy (Wales), Sean Brickell (Wales)
TMO: Gareth Simmonds (Wales)