Spain win Namibia thriller

Sun, 18 Nov 2012 16:51

It was a thriller in the heat.


In the final match of the new Tri-Nations series played at Hage-Geingob Stadium in Windhoek, Spain scored a penalty at the death to beat Namibia 38-37 and so win the tournament.

The hooter had already gone when Namibia were penalised on the half-way line and the flyhalf Jaime Nave goaled for victory.

The home side led 26-17 in a seesawing match.

Spain turned around a half-time deficit of 26-17 and although the lead changed several times, Spain’s Nave put over the winning penalty in the final minute to snatch a dramatic victory.

At one stage in the first half, Namibia led 26-11 but two late penalties in the half brought Spain closer.

Namibia opened the scoring with two penalties by Theuns Kotze. Left wing Javi Carrion goaled but then Justin Nel took a short pass from his captain PJ van Lill and scored on the left. Kotze converted. 13-3. Van Lill later went off with a knee injury which looked serious.

Spain's outside centre slipped two tackles to score to make the score 13-8. Kotze kicked two penalties and Carrion one. Then scrumhalf Eugene Jantjies grubbered into the in-goal and Sergio de la Harpe scored far out. Kotze converted from touch. 26-11.

Spain got the lead early in the second half when Carrion kicked a penalty  and then converted a try by No.8 Lionel Pardo from the back of a five-metre scrum. Carrion increased his side's lead with a long penalty. 30-26 to Spain.

Kotze goaled a penalty but then experienced scrumhalf Pablo Feijoo scored off a rolling maul. 35-29 to Spain

Back came Namibia and teenager Johan Tromp scored in the right corner. 35-34, still in Spain's favour.

The drama built up. Carrion was sent to the sin bin, Kotze hit an upright but then Kotze goaled and Namibia were ahead with three minutes to go. 37-35.

The siren sounded, Namibia were penalised and Nave won the game for the Spanish Lions.

It was a thriller in the heat.


For Namibia:

Tries: Nel, De la Harpe, Tromp
Cons: Kotze 2
Pens: Kotze 6

For Spain:
Tries: Tudela, Pardo, Feijoo
Cons: Carrion
Pens: Carrion 6, Nave

The teams

15 Cesar Sempéré, 14 Matias Tudela, 13 Jaike Carter, 12 Carlos Blanco, 11 Javi Carrion, 10 Jaime Nava, 9 Pablo Feijoo (captain), 8 Lionel Pardo, 7 Joan Tudela, 6 Matt Cook, 5 Alejandro Blanco, 4 ,David Barrera  3 Jesus Moreno, 2 Dani Marron, 1 Joe Hutchinson.
Replacements: 16 Benat Auzqui, 17 Juan Anaya, 18 Jesus Recuerda, 19 Jon Magunazelaia, 20 Ati Fernandez, 21 Corey Smith, 22 Javi Canosa

Namibia: 15Justin Nel , 14 Johan Tromp, 13 Danie van Wyk, 12 Darryl de la Harpe, 11 Sergio de la Harpe, 10 Theuns Kotze, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 8 PJ van Lill (captain), 7 Renaud van Neel, 6 Tinus du Plessis, 5 Stefan Neustadt, 4 Munovita Kasiringua,  3 André Schlechter, 2 Cor van Tonder, 1 Johnny Redelinghuys.
Replacements: 16Rathony Bekker, 17 Collen Smith, 18 Munee Tjiueza, 19 Stef Botha, 20 Arthur Bouwer, 21 McGrath van Wyk, 22 Shaun Kaizemi.

Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jason Jaftha (South Africa), Tiaan Jonker (South Africa)