SA U20 meet again

Fri, 30 Nov 2012 21:11

Those three matches will serve as important on-field preparation for the planned tour to Argentina next March.


The SA Under-20 training group will assemble from 2 to 12 December 2012 at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport for a second planning camp in preparation for the defence of their IRB Junior World Championship title in France next June.

The extended group of players who attended the first training camp last month in Stellenbosch, were reduced to 38 and include many schoolboys who did not attend the previous camp because of exams, such as flyhalf and JWC winner Handrè Pollard.

The Baby Boks' coach Dawie Theron said the purpose of the camp was to do as much planning as possible for the squad’s forthcoming training matches early next year. Theron has lined up three training matches in January against the university teams of the Maties, Ikeys and UWC. According to Theron those three matches will serve as important on-field preparation for the planned tour to Argentina next March.

Theron said: “This camp is important because it will be the last time we see the boys before the end of the year.  There will be a huge focus on our game planning, team structure, defensive systems and lineouts. We will have another get together in January, just a few days before the training matches against the university teams.

“It is still very early days, but I am happy with the overall planning at this stage and the management team is looking forward to working with the players again,"

The SA Under-20 training squad to assemble on Sunday at SAS in Stellenbosch:

Blue Bulls: Andrew Beerwinkel, Leneve Damens, Clyde Davids, Jacques du Plessis, Justin Forwood, Neethling Fouchè,  Irnè Herbst, Marvin Orie,  Handrè Pollard, Roelof Smit,  Jacques Rossouw, Jan Serfontein, Ruan Steenkamp,  Dennis Visser

Free State Cheetahs: Luan de Bruin, Jacques du Toit, Seabelo Senatla

Golden Lions: Louwrens Erasmus, Albertus Smit,  Harold Vorster,  Kershwin Williams  

The Sharks: Marnè Coetzee,  Morne du Plessis,  Robert du Preez, Tyler Fisher,  Stefan Ungerer, Hanco Venter

Leopards: Sylvian Mahuza, Luther Obi, Marnus Tack

Western Province: Cheslin Kolbe, Freddie Kirsten,  Justin Benn, JP Lewis,  Tim Swiel,  Jurie van Vuuren,  Sti Sithole, Justin Gedult.