Goode sinks Perpignan at Sixways

Fri, 07 Dec 2012 07:41

It was the Andy Goode show at Sixways Stadium on Thursday as the flyhalf scored all Worcester Warriors' points in a tight 22-21 win over Perpignan.

The victory edged the Warriors three points clear at the top of the European Challenge Cup group with everything now resting on the return tie at Stade Aime Giral in Round Four.

Goode - despite the close attentions of a trio of Perpignan defenders - managed to force his way over close to the posts for his side's only try in the 32nd minute.

His trusty boot did the rest with the conversion of his own try along with five penaltys, the final two in the 65th and 77th minutes denying Perpignan a priceless away win.

Goode's opposite number James Hook saw his final minute drop-goal miss the target as the relieved Warriors' fans were left to celebrate their 11th win against French opposition in 20 tournament matches.

A feisty contest saw Welsh referee Neil Hennessy send four players packing to the sin bin - Neil Best and Ceri Jones from the home side and Perpignan's Sona Taumalolo and Adrien Plante - as Perpignan ended up outscoring the home side 2-1 in tries.

Scrumhalf Florian Cazenave got the first, after powerful work by lock Sebastien Taofifenua, with the second coming in the shape of a penalty try midway through the second half.

Welsh international Hook did land a conversion, drop goal and two penalty goals but it was Goode's show.

Meanwhile, in the other Challenge Cup match on Thursday Mont de Marsan won the strictly French affair against Bordeaux-Begles 20-13 at Stade Andre Moga, but it was more about domestic bragging rights than really threatening the English domination of Pool One.

The win took Mont de Marsan to five pool points but still another five points adrift of leaders London Irish who have played a game less and meet Gloucester in the potentially decisive back-to-back group contests on successive weekends.

However, the win did bring to an end Mont de Marsan's 11-match tournament losing run - the worst by any French club in the competition - while also gaining a measure of revenge for Bordeaux-Begles' 17-12 win in the Top 14 last month with Raphael Ibanez's club now rooted to the foot of the table.

Worcestor Warriors 22-21 Perpignan

The scorers:

For Worcester:
Try: Goode
Con: Goode
Pens: Goode 5
Yellow Cards: Best, Jones

For Perpignan:
Tries: Cazanave, Penalty
Con: Hook
Pens: Hook 2
DG: Hook
Yellow Card: Taumalolo, Planté

Worcester Warriors: 15 Chris Pennell, 14 Nikki Walker, 13 Alex Grove, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 David Lemi, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Paul Hodgson, 8 Semisi Taulava, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Neil Best, 5 Chris Jones, 4 James Percival, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Edward Shervington, 1 Ceri Jones.
Replacements: 16 Aleki Lutui, 17 Rob O'Donnell, 18 John Andress, 19 Dean Schofield, 20 Sam Betty, 21 Jonny Arr, 22 Errie Claassens, 23 Andy Short.

Perpignan: 15 Joffrey Michel, 14 Farid Sid, 13 David Marty, 12 Sione Piukala, 11 Adrien Plante, 10 James Hook, 9 Florian Cazenave, 8 Henry Tuilagi, 7 Luke Narraway, 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Romain Taofifenua, 4 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Guilhem Guirado, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Replacements: 16 Romain Terrain, 17 Jérôme Schuster, 18 Kisi Pulu, 19 Bertrand Guiry, 20 David Mele, 21 Lifeimi Mafi, 22 Richard Haughton, 23 Robins Tchale Watchou.

Referee: Neil Hennessy

Mont de Marsan 20-13 Bordeaux-Begles

The scorers:

For Bordeaux-Begles:
Try: Domvo
Con: Munro
Pens: Munro 2

For Mont de Marsan:
Tries: Beaulavon, Pic
Cons: Douvesy 2
Pens: Douvesy 2

Bordeaux-Begles: 15 Darly Domvo, 14 Thierry Brana, 13 Julien Rey, 12 Charles Brousse, 11 Rafael Carballo, 10 Lachie Munro, 9 Julien Seron, 8 Damien Larrieu, 7 Matthew Clarkin (captain), 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 Andrew Chauveau, 4 Karolis Navickas, 3 Silviu Florea, 2 Fabien Rofes, 1 Franck Labbe.       
Replacements: 16 Hikairo Forbes, 17 Yassine Boutemane, 18 Nicolas Decamps, 19 Adam Jaulhac, 20 Hugh Chalmers, 21 Baptiste Serin, 22 Michel Denetre, 23 Avenisi Vasuinubu.

Mont-de-Marsan: 15 Yohann Durquet, 14 Jordan Beaulavon, 13 Julien Cabannes, 12 Tamaz Mchedlidze, 11 William Ryder, 10 Alexandre Douvesy, 9 Arnaud Pic, 8 Alexandre Ricaud, 7 Aldric Lescure, 6 Yann Brethous, 5 Scott Murray, 4 Sebastian De Chaves, 3 Pieter Grobler, 2 Thomas Bordes, 1 Julian Fiorini (captain).       
Replacements: 16 Victor Paquet, 17 Morgan Phelipponneau, 18 Mathieu Giudicelli, 19 Eric Dos Santos, 20 Vincent Farre, 21 Laurent Magnaval, 22 Christofer Baegert, 23 Ximun Lucu.

Referee: JP Doyle (England)