Carter can't make Kiwi list

Mon, 10 Dec 2012 10:54
Mccaw-_-hansen-dejected Mccaw_-carter-_-read Richie-mccaw-presser2-630 Dancarterabtraining11 Kieran-read-nz-trains-630 Dancarter Kieran-read-media-630
Winners announced on Friday

Dan Carter might be the best player in the world, but he is not rated worthy of being a finalist in New Zealand's Player of the Year awards.

The nominees for this year's New Zealand rugby awards were confirmed on Monday.

Carter, who was named the IRB Player of the Year earlier this month, could not make any list for the Kiwi awards.

The winners of all categories will be announced on Friday, December 14.

The nominations for the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year award are 116-Test All Black and captain Richie McCaw, the ever-powerful No.8 Kieran Read and explosive centre Conrad Smith.

The award was won by Jerome Kaino in 2011 and Kieran Read the year before.

The Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year nominations are All Blacks fullback Israel Dagg (Ngati Kahungunu), loose forward Liam Messam (Ngai Tuhoe) and scrumhalf Aaron Smith (Ngati Kahungunu).

This award was won by All Blacks and Whakatohea scrumhalf Piri Weepu in 2011.

Police officers Selica Winiata (flyhalf, Manawatu) and Fiao'o Fa'amausili (hooker, Auckland), were two of the Black Ferns named as nominees for the NZRU Women's Player of the Year award, alongside versatile Auckland and Black Ferns loose forward and lock Rawinia Everitt.

Fa'amausili, who captained the side on their England tour this year, won the award last year.


Kel Tremain Memorial Player of the Year:
Richie McCaw
Kieran Read
Conrad Smith

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year:
Israel Dagg
Liam Messam
Aaron Smith

NZRU Women's Player of the Year:
Rawinia Everitt
Fiao'o Fa'amausili
Selica Winiata

Super Rugby Player of the Year:
Craig Clarke (Chiefs)
Aaron Cruden (Chiefs)
Conrad Smith (Hurricanes)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year:
Tomasi Cama (Manawatu)
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)
Lote Raikabula (Wellington)

NZRU Age Grade Player of the Year:
Jason Emery
Jordan Taufua
Ofa Tu'ungafasi

NZRU Referee of the Year:
Nicky Inwood
Glen Jackson
Chris Pollock

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year:
Bill Anderson (Southland)
Jim Lonergan (Auckland)
Ray Watson (Bay of Plenty)

NPC Player of the Year:
Robbie Fruean (Canterbury)
Tim Nanai-Williams (Counties Manukau)
Charles Piutau (Auckland)

Heartland Championship Player of the Year:
Ben Coman (Buller)
Tau Moeke (East Coast)
Peter Rowe (Wanganui)

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year:
Steve Hansen (All Blacks)
Dave Rennie (Chiefs)
Gordon Tietjens (All Blacks Sevens)

Team of the Year:
All Blacks