Kings trial four foreigners

Wed, 30 Jan 2013 12:27
Large alan solomons presser Large daniel adongo drinks Large alan solomons presser2 Large hadleigh parkes kings Large matt sexton   alan solomons

Southern Kings coach Alan Solomons has named four of his five foreign imports in the 29-man squad that will face a Franchise XV.

Southern Kings coach Alan Solomons has named four of his five foreign imports in the 29-man squad that will face a SWD Franchise XV in a pre-season outing in George on Friday.

Kenyan utility forward Daniel Adongo, New Zealand utility back Hadleigh Parkes, French hooker Virgil Lacombe, and Argentinean loose forward Tomas Leonardi will all play 40 minutes.

Puma scrumhalf Nicolas Vergallo is the only foreign import that does not feature in Friday's squad.

The Kings were told this week that they are not allowed more than the regulation two foreigners in the matchday squad, which means three of the five will miss out.

However, Kings President Cheeky Watson, who said they "will accept and abide by the decision", revealed that they will not send any of their foreigners packing.

"We will not be releasing any of our foreign players, as there are still ample opportunities within our structures for them to contribute," Watson said in a statement.

In the meantime Solomons is continuing to trial the foreigners to see who will feature for them when the Super Rugby season gets underway next month.

In the absence of regular captain Luke Watson, Cheetahs import Andries Strauss will captain the Kings during the first half of Friday's trial, while Sevens Springbok Mpho Mbiyozo will wear the captaincy armband after the half-time break.

Southern Kings:  
15 Elric van Vuuren
14 Sergeal Petersen (40 minutes) / Siviwe Soyizwapi (40 minutes)
13 Ronnie Cooke (60 minutes) / Siyanda Grey (20 minutes)
12 Andries Strauss (Captain) (40 minutes) / Hadleigh Parkes (40 minutes)
11 Marcello Sampson (40 minutes)/Siyanda Grey (20 minutes)/Sergeal Petersen (20 minutes)
10 George Whitehead (40 minutes) / Wesley Dunlop (Vice Captain) (40 minutes)
9 Shaun Venter (40 minutes) / Johan Herbst (40 minutes)
8 Jacques Engelbrecht (40 minutes) /Cornell du Preez (40 minutes)
7 Wimpie van der Walt (40 minutes) / Mpho Mbiyozo (Captain) (40 minutes)
6 Devin Oosthuizen (Vice Captain) (40 minutes) / Tomas Leonardi (40 minutes)
5 Daniel Adongo (40 minutes) / Rynier Bernardo (40 minutes)
4 David Bullbring (80 minutes)
3 Ross Geldenhuys (40 minutes) / Kevin Buys (40 minutes)
2 Virgil Lacombe (40 minutes) / Bandise Maku (40 minutes)
1 Jaco Engels (40 minutes) / Schalk Ferreira (40 minutes)

Date: Friday, February 1
Venue: Outeniqua Park, George
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: TBC

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 23 February 2018
Highlanders v Blues 06h35 Dunedin
Rebels v Reds 08h45 Melbourne
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 19h00 Irish Independent Park
Dragons v Edinburgh 19h30 Rodney Parade
Leinster v Kings 19h35 RDS
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
France v Italy 20h00 Paris
Sat, 24 February 2018
Sunwolves v Brumbies 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Chiefs 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Stormers 08h45 Allianz Park
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Bath v Sale Sharks 12h30 Recreation Ground
Lions v Jaguares 13h05 Johannesburg
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Ireland v Wales 14h15 Aviva Stadium
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bulls v Hurricanes 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Ospreys v Cheetahs 17h30 Liberty Stadium
Sun, 25 February 2018
Zebre v Cardiff Blues 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
London Irish v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Saracens v Leicester Tigers 15h30 Allianz Park
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 0 0 0 0 0
Reds 0 0 0 0 0
Waratahs 0 0 0 0 0
Sunwolves 0 0 0 0 0
Rebels 0 0 0 0 0
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0
Hurricanes 0 0 0 0 0
Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0
Highlanders 0 0 0 0 0
Blues 0 0 0 0 0
Pool SA
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 1 1 0 0 4
Lions 1 1 0 0 4
Sharks 1 0 0 1 1
Bulls 0 0 0 0 0
Jaguares 1 0 0 1 0