Glenwood start with victory

Tue, 05 Mar 2013 08:07
Large glenwood v framesby630

Glenwood High School of Durban beat Hoërskool Framesby of Port Elizabeth 26-24 at Kings Park on Saturday.

Glenwood High School of Durban beat Hoërskool Framesby of Port Elizabeth 26-24 at Kings Park on Saturday.

It was an exciting start to Glenwood High School's rugby campaign on Saturday as they got their season off to an exciting start against formidable opponents Framesby. The match was the curtainraiser for the Sharks vs Stormers game and thoroughly entertained the crowds from the kick-off.

Glenwood scored a few seconds from the kick-off where some good work from the Glenwood centres Akhona Nela and Nkululeko Mcuma saw Glenwood open up a five-point gap against the visitors. Framesby were never out the game and some strong attacking play saw them receive three penalties which resulted in them taking the lead 9 points to 5. Some Good work from Glenwood's eighthman Jaco Coetzee and fullback Morné Joubert allowed wing Sphamandla Ngcobo to dart through for the second try of the match. Scrumhalf Kyle Gerhard converted the try giving Glenwood a 12 -9 lead at half time.

After the break it was Glenwood who came out refreshed and a lot more focused. It was  Nela who again created some space and allowed lock Matthew Harmsworth to crash over the line. This was followed up by a quality line out and rolling maul which saw R Kay score for the Green Machine. Gerhard again converted making the score 26 -12 in Glenwood’s favour. Framesby however were not prepared to give up and counted strongly scoring two tries in the closing minutes. Fortunately for Glenwood the Framesby No.10 Ernst Stapelberg, who had an excellent game, missed the final conversion to allow Glenwood to claim a nail biting 24-26 victory.

Glenwood 1st XV: 15 Morné Joubert, 14 Corné Vermaak, 13 Nkululeko Mcuma, 12 Akhona Nela, 11 Sphamandla Ngcobo, 10 Curtis Jonas, 9  Kyle  Gerhard, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 7 Mzwandile Mazibuko, 6  Rupert Kay, 5 Matthew Harmsworth,4 Seth van den Heever, 3  Joseph Potgieter,  2  Kieran  van Vuuren, 1  Kobus  Tredoux, 16 Percy Mngadi, 17 Robert Peacock, 18 Kevin du Randt, 19 Ntokozo Vidima, 20 Jacques Duma, 21 Kayd du Toit, 22 Derwent Stopforth, 23 Dewald van Tonder

From Glenwood