Limpopo's domestic debut

Wed, 06 Mar 2013 13:56
Large vodacom cup trophy Large jandre   peet marais Large jandre marais Large peet marais

All eyes will be on Polokwane on Saturday when the Limpopo Blue Bulls make their Vodacom Cup debut.

All eyes will be on Polokwane on Saturday when the Limpopo Blue Bulls make their Vodacom Cup debut, while Western Province will kick off their defence of the title in Ceres.

Limpopo, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help grow the game in the most northern province of South Africa.

They join the 14 provincial unions, as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which concludes in mid-May.

The team from Limpopo host the Griffons at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane on Saturday.

The Vodacom Cup kicks off on Friday in Durban when the Sharks XV host their southern neighbours, the Border Bulldogs, at Kings Park.

With former Springbok midfielder Marius Joubert a likely starter for the KwaZulu-Natalians, with the Marais-brothers, Jandré and Peet, a possible lock combination, it could be a tough start to the competition for the team from East London.

The defending Vodacom Cup champions, Western Province, start their campaign in the picturesque town of Ceres against the Boland Cavaliers.

With the recent hot weather in the Western Cape, temperatures could be soaring in the Boland on Saturday.

The pick of the weekend's action is probably the North Section encounter in Kimberley, where Griquas, runners up in 2012, have a massive game at Park against the Blue Bulls in a replay of one of last year's semifinals.

Between them, Griquas and the Blue Bulls have won the Vodacom Cup seven times out of the 15 times the competition has been played. The men from the Northern Cape have won it four times (equal with the Golden Lions), while the Pretorians have three tournament victories behind their name.

The Free State XV, Falcons, Pampas XV and Western Province have won the Vodacom Cup once each.

In the Southern Section, the Free State XV travel to George to face the SWD Eagles, while the Pampas XV, champions in 2011, start their campaign in Port Elizabeth against the EP Kings.

The other matches in the Northern Section, the Pumas host the Falcons in Nelspruit and the Leopards XV travel to Johannesburg where they will take on the Golden Lions at Pirates Rugby Club in Greenside.

Competition format for 2013:

South Africa's 14 provincial unions, as well as debutants Limpopo and former champions from Argentina, the Pampas XV, will play in two sections, North and South, with eight teams each of the groups. All the teams will play in a single round within their own section after which the top eight sides, four from each section, will progress to the playoffs.

Northern Section: Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Griquas, Leopards XV, Pumas, Falcons, Limpopo.

Southern Section: Boland Cavaliers, Border Bulldogs, EP Kings, Free State XV, Sharks XV, SWD Eagles, Western Province, Pampas XV.

Round One fixtures:

Friday, March 8

Sharks XV v Border Bulldogs
Kick-off: 16.30
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Referee: Jason Jaftha

SWD Eagles v Free State XV
Kick-off: 18.00
Venue: Outeniqua Park, George
Referee: Quinton Immelman

Saturday, 9 March 2013

Pumas v Falcons
Kick-off: 15.00
Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Referee: Gerrie de Bruin

Boland Cavalier v Western Province
Kick-off: 14.45
Venue: Victoria Sports Grounds, Ceres
Referee: Tiaan Jonker

Golden Lions v Leopards XV
Kick-off: 15.00
Venue: Pirates Rugby Club, Johannesburg
Referee: Nic Rocono (USA)

Griquas v Blue Bulls
Kick-off: 15.00
Venue: Park, Kimberley
Referee: Jaco Peyper

Limpopo Blue Bulls v Griffons
Kick-off: 15.00
Venue: Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
EP Kings v Pampas XV
Kick-off: 16.45
Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
Referee: Juan Sylvestre (Argentina)