Chiefs change for Stormers

Thu, 07 Mar 2013 15:42
Mahonri-schwalger-630 Tanerau-latimer-chiefs-630 Charlie-ngatai-chiefs

The Chiefs have made several changes for the crunch Super Rugby showdown against the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday.

Mahonri Schwalger starts at hooker and Tanerau Latimer at No.6 for the first time this season, while Craig Clarke resumes his starting spot at lock and Liam Messam moves to No.8.

In the backline, Tawera Kerr-Barlow returns at scrumhalf and Charlie Ngatai starts in the No.12 jersey in place of Bundee Aki.  

Nick Crosswell is in line for his Chiefs debut having being named on the bench, which also includes Andrew Horrell, who comes back in from injury, Hika Elliot and Augustine Pulu.

Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Charlie Ngatai, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Tanerau Latimer, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (captain), 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Ben Tameifuna, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Nick Crosswell, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Andrew Horrell, 22 Patrick Osborne.

Date: Saturday, March 9
Venue: Newland, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17.05 (15.05 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Ben Crouse (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)