SA in pool of death

Mon, 01 Apr 2013 08:44
Large glasgow 7s Large blitzbokke tokyo 7s Large seabelo senatla tokyo 7s Large blitzbokke tokyo 7s2

Tokyo winners South Africa have been rewarded with a proverbial 'pool of the death' in the next round of the IRB Sevens World Series.

Tokyo winners South Africa have been rewarded with a proverbial 'pool of the death' in the next round of the IRB Sevens World Series.

The IRB has confirmed the pool draw for round eight of the IRB World Sevens Series, the Glasgow leg at Scotstoun Stadium on May 4 and 5.

The Glasgow tournament will be crucial in deciding which of the current teams will need to re-qualify as core teams next season.

In Glasgow South Africa head Pool A and face arguably the toughest of the groups - with matches on Day One against Samoa, Kenya and Canada.

Tournament hosts Scotland were drawn in Pool B, which is headed by New Zealand, England and Portugal.

The bronze winners in Tokyo, Australia, start in Pool C with matches against Fiji, Argentina and Spain.

France were the first team drawn into Pool D and they face the United States, Wales and the Rugby World Cup Sevens hosts, Russia.

At the final round of the Series, the London Sevens the core teams ranked 13th, 14th and 15th after Glasgow, will play off for three available core team places next season with Asian champions Hong Kong, Russia, Zimbabwe, Tonga and Georgia - a scenario every core team wishes to avoid.

Currently Scotland and United States are tied in joint-12th place, ahead of Portugal and Spain.

After seven of the nine rounds in the 2012/13 Series, defending champions New Zealand lead with 132 points from South Africa in second place on 100.

Fiji are third (98), Samoa fourth (94) and Kenya and France tied in fifth (77).

Glasgow pools:
Pool A: South Africa, Samoa, Kenya, Canada
Pool B: New Zealand, Scotland, England, Portugal
Pool C: Australia, Fiji, Argentina, Spain
Pool D: France, United States, Wales, Russia

There are currently no matches being played
Tue, 06 October 2015
Canada v Romania 15h45 Leicester
Fiji v Uruguay 19h00 Milton Keynes
Wed, 07 October 2015
South Africa v United States 15h45 London
Namibia v Georgia 19h00 Exeter
Fri, 09 October 2015
Pumas v Blue Bulls 16h00 Mbombela Stadium
Western Province v EP Kings 16h00 Newlands
New Zealand v Tonga 19h00 Newcastle
Sat, 10 October 2015
Free State Cheetahs v Sharks 12h00 Bloemfontein
Samoa v Scotland 13h30 Newcastle
Golden Lions v Griquas 14h00 Ellis Park
Australia v Wales 15h45 London
England v Uruguay 19h00 Manchester
Sun, 11 October 2015
Argentina v Namibia 11h00 Leicester
Italy v Romania 13h30 Exeter
France v Ireland 15h45 Cardiff
United States v Japan 19h00 Gloucester
Team P W D L Pts
Argentina Sevens 9 0 0 0 92
Wales Sevens 9 0 0 0 91
France Sevens 9 0 0 0 73
Scotland Sevens 9 0 0 0 48
United States Sevens 9 0 0 0 41
Kenya Sevens 9 0 0 0 40
New Zealand Sevens 9 3 0 0 167
Fiji Sevens 9 3 0 0 161
England Sevens 9 1 0 0 135
Samoa Sevens 9 1 0 0 133
South Africa Sevens 9 0 0 0 125
Australia Sevens 9 0 0 0 112
Canada Sevens 9 0 0 0 33
Spain Sevens 9 0 0 0 19
Portugal Sevens 9 0 0 0 18