Vishuis chasing Koshuis hat-trick

Sun, 07 Apr 2013 15:55
Large vishuis Large vishuis medies Large villagersbastion

Defending champions Vishuis will be hunting a third Koshuisrugby Championship title when they face Villagers in Stellenbosch on Monday.

Defending champions Steinhoff Vishuis will be hunting an unprecendented third Steinhoff Koshuisrugby Championship title when they face Villagers in Stellenbosch on Monday.

The UFS-Shimlas outfit took the title in 2010 and 2012, but they will have their work cut out for them if they are to retain their crown in a match that will be televised live from the Danie Craven Stadium.

Villagers from NWU-Pukke have not lost a single game this season, and will be bursting with confidence heading into this clash on neutral territory.

Vishuis saw off the challenge of Maties side Medies in their semifinal, securing a tight 31-26 victory, whilst Villagers had an easier time of it in their 39-2 defeat of Bastion.

Villagers coach Chaka Willemse is pleased with the momentum his side have built up throughout the tournament, and has asked them to stick with what has worked for them this season.

"Vishuis are the champions so it will not be easy by any means, but we have found a good balance between attack and defence this year.

"In our semifinal against Bastion we scored six tries without conceding one, and only had five penalties against us so we will be looking for another performance like that as discipline is so important in finals," he explained.

With the television cameras adding extra pressure, Willemse has called for a team performance from his side.

"We will look good on TV if we play well as a team, not individuals, so that is what we have focused on this week," he said.


Steinhoff Vishuis: 15 Beyers Louw, 14 Garneth Kock, 13 Adrian Fransman, 12 Stephan Smith, 11 Lourens Jonker, 10 Dian Beukes, 9 Willie Viljoen, 8 Peet Coetzee, 7 Ernst Schoeman, 6 Ricky van Straaten, 5 Willie Barry (captain), 4 Leon du Raan, 3 Schalk Oosthuizen, 2 Christiaan Raubenheimer, 1 Louis Cloete.
Replacements: 16 Wandile Tsabe, 17 Niel Fourie, 18 Henfred Line, 19 Armand de Wet, 20 Riaan du Toit, 21 Barend Bornman, 22 Casper du Plessis, 23 Stefanus Burger.

Steinhoff Villagers: TBC

Date: Monday, April 8
Venue: Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch
Kick-off: 16.45 (14.45 GMT)
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO: Deon van Blommestein