Latest News

Refs for Euorpe's semis

Fri, 19 Apr 2013 13:00

The four referees for the four matches are all experienced men


The European Rugby Cup has announced the match officials for the semifinals of the Heineken Cup and the Amlin Challenge Cup.

The Heineken Cup and Amlin Challenge Cup match official appointments were announced on Friday, 19 April 2013, following a meeting of the ERC Match Officials sub-committee. The meeting reviewed match official performances across all relevant tournaments in conjunction with feedback from the referee managers in each Union and from club coaching staff.

For the knockout stages of the tournaments, the assistant referees have been appointed on the basis of their experience, whereas for the pool stages, assistant referees were nominated by the Unions of the match referees.

The four referees for the four matches are all experienced men - Alain Rolland, Nigel Owens, George Clancy and Wayne Barnes.

Heineken Cup semifinals

Saturday, 27 April 2013

Clermont Auvergne vs Munster at Stade de la Mosson in Montpellier
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Leighton Hodges (Wales), Ian Davies (Wales)
Television match official: Gareth Simmonds (Wales)
Citing Commissioner: Douglas Hunter (Scotland)

Sunday, 28 April 2013

Saracens vs Toulon at Twickenham
Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland), Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)
Television match official: Marshall Kilgore (Ireland)
Citing Commissioner: Denis Templeton (Ireland)

Amlin Challenge Cup semifinals

Friday, 26 April 2013

Perpignan vs Stade Français at Stade Aimé Giral in Perpignan
Referee : George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant referees : Dudley Phillips (Ireland) , Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Television match official: Jim Yuille (Scotland)
Citing Commissioner: Ian Goodall (Scotland)

Saturday, 27 April 2013

Leinster vs Biarritz at RDS in Dublin
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant referees: Greg Garner (England), Paul Dix (England)
Television match official: Geoff Warren (England)
Citing Commissioner: Ray Wilton (Wales)