Double Bok boost for Sharks

Thu, 02 May 2013 09:50
Jp-pietersen-sharks-ball-63 Lwazimvovosharks Jp-pietersen-sharks-trainin

The Sharks have been bolstered by the return from injury of Springbok wings JP Pietersen and Lwazi Mvovo to their side for Saturday's Super Rugby clash against the Highlanders in Dunedin.

And another noteworthy selection is the inclusion of Lions loan player JC Janse van Rensburg amongst the replacements.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has also made several other changes.

In the front row Kyle Cooper and Craig Burden swap positions.

Franco van der Merwe is back at lock, where he replaces Anton Bresler.

Keegan Daniel returns to captain the side at flank, alongside Marcell Coetzee - the pair replace Derick Minnie (bracketed on the bench with Odwa Ndungane) and Jean Deysel.

A call on who will fill the final spot on the bench will be made closer to matchday.

Lubabalo Mtembu will start at No.8 again, following his outstanding game against the Chiefs last week.

Tian Meyer, called up for Cobus Reinach who returned home with an ankle injury, joins Piet Lindeque on the bench.

Sharks: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Francois Steyn, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Lubabalo Mtembu, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Wiehahn Herbst.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Tian Meyer, 21 Piet Lindeque, 22 Odwa Ndungane/Derick Minnie.

Date: Saturday, May 4
Time: 19.35 (09.35 SA time; 07.35 GMT)
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Referee: Steve Walsh
Assistant Referees: Mike Fraser, Kane McBride
TMO: Keith Brown