Smit finishes as a flyhalf

Fri, 17 May 2013 09:00
Large john smit saracens stans Large john smit bok blazer Large john smit saracens point Large john smit chip Large john smit   bakkies botha Large john smit saracens Large john smit golf

John Smit ended his playing career as a flyhalf.

John Smit ended his playing career as a flyhalf.

The record-breaking and World Cup-winning former Springbok captain bowed out as a player on a winning note - as Saracens were 19-0 winners against the South African Barbarians in London.

Smit started the match at hooker and ended it playing at flyhalf, as he called time on an illustrious career that saw him capped 111 times by the Springboks and win a World Cup in 2007.

The match saw two tries from James Short and a score for Jack Wilson secure the victory against the Barbarians side largely made up of emerging South African players based in Europe.

After a fierce opening quarter of the match, Short scored his first of the match to round off a flowing crossfield move while Wilson powered over the line just before the break.

Short crossed for a second midway through the second half in a match that also saw Joe Maddock and Andy Saull play their final games for Saracens.

But perhaps the biggest cheer of the match was saved for Smit - when he came back on to the field with five minutes, remaining to take charge of the game at flyhalf and round of a fantastic career.

The scorers:

For Saracens:
Short 2, Wilson
Cons: Spencer, Mordt

For SA Barbarians:


Saracens: 15 Joe Maddock, 14 Jack Wilson, 13 Nick Tompkins, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 James Short, 10 Nils Mordt, 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Justin Melck, 7 Andy Saull, 6 George Kruis, 5 Mouritz Botha, 4 Eoin Sheriff, 3 Petrus du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Nick Auterac.
Replacements - from: 16 Jamie George, 17 Jared Saunders, 18 Ben Cooper, 19 Scott Spurling, 20 Hayden Stringer, 21 Neil de Kock, 22 Sam Stanley, 23 Mark Kohler, 24 Josh Sharp.

SA Barbarians squad: Lukhanyo Am, Rob Andrew, Max Ashcroft, Don Barrell, Stephan Kekana, Simon Kerrod, Doppies la Grange, Stefan Liebenberg, Shaun Malton, Ben Pienaar, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Ethienne Reyneke, Bees Roux, Nick Schonert, Dewald Senekal, Matt Turner, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, Darryl Veeneendaal, Brandon Walker, Jeff Williams, Matt Williams, Vainon Willis.

Referee: David Rose (England)
Assistant referees: Roy Maybank (England), Ian Tempest (England)