Gold Coast to kick-start episode 15

Fri, 17 May 2013 19:57
Irb-sevens-trophy Captains-london-7s Gavin-hastings-irb-7s-troph
Some changes to the order

Australia's Gold Coast will again play host to the opening round of the 15th edition of the IRB Sevens World Series.

The International Rugby Board announced the dates for the Sevens World Series 2013/14, with the same nine countries as in 2012/13 hosting tournaments - although there are two changes in the order of rounds.

The first three events at the end of 2013 remain unchanged - with Australia's standing alone in October, before the Dubai-South Africa double-header.

In 2014, the Series will visit the United States before New Zealand, and then Japan before Hong Kong.

The final two tournaments will again be in Scotland and England.

IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "With its Olympic credentials boosting rugby's landscape around the world, Sevens is growing all the time, as we saw last weekend in London with world record crowds of 71,898 on day one and 113,025 over the two days.

"Throughout the 2012/13 Series we have seen once again how rugby fans are supporting these magnificent events, either attending in their many thousands or contributing to more record broadcast figures around the world, with a 10 percent increase in live coverage.

"As we continue on our countdown to Rugby Sevens' Olympic debut in Rio in 2016, we are delighted to have nine such strong tournaments showcasing these world class athletes and the strength of competition between them.

"Our congratulations go to New Zealand on winning their 11th Series title, and to Scotland, Spain and Portugal for winning core team status for the 2013/14 Series, which is set to be more competitive than ever."

Sevens World Series 2013/14:
Round One: Australia (Gold Coast), 12-13 October 2013
Round Two: Dubai, 29-30 November 2013
Round Three: South Africa (Port Elizabeth), 7-8 December 2013
Round Four: USA (Las Vegas), 24-26 January 2014
Round Five: New Zealand (Wellington), 7-8 February 2014
Round Six: Japan (Tokyo), 22-23 March 2014
Round Seven: Hong Kong, 28-30 March 2014
Round Eight: Scotland (Glasgow), 3-4 May 2014
Round Nine: England (London), 10-11 May 2014