Henry escapes punishment
Sun, 26 May 2013 09:46
It was never his intention to offend
Former All Black coach Graham Henry escaped serious punishment for criticising Super Rugby officials after pleading guilty to a misconduct charge on Sunday.
Henry, who is now a Blues assistant coach, was let off with a reprimand and an agreement to issue a public apology.
Jannie Lubbe, the judicial officer with Super Rugby governing body SANZAR, said he took into account Henry's "exemplary record" as a coach for more than 40 years and his statement that "it was never his intention to offend".
Henry was slapped with a misconduct charge after blasting officials following the Blues’ loss to the Crusaders on May 18.
He was particularly critical of television match official (TMO) Keith Brown after a Blues try was disallowed.
"It was obvious to me. He is probably a blind TMO, is he?"
Henry also claimed Crusaders prop Wyatt Crockett "got away with murder" at scrum time and accused officials of failing to police the offside line.
Lubbe said Henry had since written to SANZAR and conceded "his remarks and comments were inappropriate".
|South African news|
|» Front row blow for Pumas|
|» Boks to ramp up World Cup campaign|
|» From a deep dark pit comes belief|
|» Cheika in Vic and Bakkies farewell|
|» McCaw try: Referees in public spat|