SA flank gets French call-up

Thu, 13 Jun 2013 09:18
Bernard-le-roux-france Blues-v-france Philippe-saint-andre-france
He had a very interesting game on Tuesday

France coach Philippe Saint-Andre made four changes to his starting line-up for the second Test against the All Blacks in Christchurch on Saturday.

This including a debut cap for South African-born flank Bernard Le Roux.

Saint-Andre also drafted prop Nicolas Mas, lock Christophe Samson and flyhalf Frederic Michalak into the side that lost 13-23 in the first Test in Auckland last Saturday.

Michalak and Samson both missed the opening clash against the All Blacks as they were among a contingent of players who arrived in New Zealand late because they were involved in the Top 14 Final between Toulon and Castres.

Saint-Andre resisted the temptation to make wholesale changes to accommodate the latecomers, but included Brice Dulin, Remi Tales, Mathieu Bastareaud on an eight-man bench.

Le Roux, 24, was rewarded for a fine performance on Tuesday against the Blues, when a second string France team overpowered the Super Rugby outfit 38-15.

"He's good in the ruck area and has qualities as a jumper, he had a very interesting game on Tuesday," Saint-Andre said of 24-year-old Racing-Metro loose forward.

Le Roux replaces Fulgence Ouedraogo, who suffered a sprained ankle and will miss the rest of the tour.

France: 15 Maxime Medard, 14 Adrien Plante, 13 Florian Fritz, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Yoann Huget, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Bernard Le Roux, 7 Louis Picamoles, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Christophe Samson, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Thomas Domingo.
Replacements: 16 Benjamin Kayser, 17 Vincent Debaty, 18 Luc Ducalcon, 19 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 20 Yannick Nyanga, 21 Brice Dulin, 22 Remi Tales, 23 Mathieu Bastareaud.

Date: Saturday, June 15
Venue: AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick-off: 19.35 (09.35 French time; 07.35 GMT)
Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), TBC (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)