Boland sneak see-saw battle

Mon, 08 Jul 2013 14:59
Large boland v limpopo630 Large stadium cravenweek630

Boland scored with two minutes left to claim a tense 31-26 win over the Limpopo Blue Bulls in the last game of the opening day of Craven Week.

Boland managed to score with two minutes on the clock to claim a tense 31-26 win over the Limpopo Blue Bulls in the last game of the opening day of Craven Week.

The first points came after 10 minutes as centre Leolin Zas bursts through after a great angle. He takes the ball to ground and the Bolanders flood the breakdown and recycle it quickly as it comes to Philander on the left and he has too much pace and goes over for the try in the corner. The conversion from Adams strikes the post but does not go over. Boland were up 5-0.

The Limpopo Blue Bulls strike back straight away as flyhalf Bruwer bursts through initially but a couple phases ensue and Bruwer gets it wide on the left and goes over for the try when he could have given it wide. The conversion is sucessful from Van Wyk and the Bulls lead 7-5 after 14 minutes.

Another try as the game bursts to life as Boland pounce on a loose ball and they punish the Bulls as lock Johannes du Toit gets over for his sides second try of the day after he ran a great line of support. The conversion is good from Adams and Boland take the lead 12-7.

The Boland boys got their third try of the half when the captain Hanro Liebenberg took a quick tap and went for the line from five metres out. He had too much power and scored the try but Adams could not add the extra two points. 17-7 to Boland with five minutes left in the first-half.

Limpopo were not going to lie down and some great passes in the tackle from the hosts meant that the ball got to the No.8 Floyd Ntimane who crashed over for the score. Van Wyk gets the conversion and at the break it was 17-14 to Boland.

A great turnover won by the Boland captain Liebenberg on his own line leads to him giving a good pass to his centre Zas who runs in the try from 70 metres out. Adams' conversion is a formality and Boland opened up a strong 24-14 lead after 10 minutes in the second period.

Limpopo never lay down and scored their first try of the second-half off a piece of poor play from Boland and the hosts streamed through and they set it up close to the line and shifted it wide. There were too many Limpopo players and centre Van Wyk goes over for the try. A bad missed conversion means that Boland remained five points clear at 24-19 with 10 minutes left on the clock.

JP Van Wyk gets the vital score as he goes over under the posts for his second try of the game. He had a lot to do as he stepped inside and outside the Boland defence from about 10 metres out. He converted his own try and Limpopo lead 26-24 with five minutes to go.

It was Boland who had the last laugh as they backed their structures and went for the driving maul. Liebenberg broke off the back of the maul and was not held which meant he could get up and go for the line to score the try. The conversion is over from Adams and the Boland boys were ahead 31-26 with two minutes on the clock.

Man of the match: The Boland captain, Hanro Liebenberg, was huge and fully deserves to be the man of the match. He scored twice and was responsible for a turnover that lead to another try. Lead from the front and was all over the park right up until the final whistle when they held up the Blue Bulls over the line.

The scorers:

For the Limpopo Blue Bulls:
Tries: Bruwer, Ntimane, Van Wyk 2
Cons: Van Wyk 3

For Boland:
Tries: Philander, Du Toit, Liebenberg 2, Zas
Cons: Adams 2, Zas

The teams:

Limpopo Blue Bulls: 15 Arno Dawid Maree, 14 Matjikinyane Molapo, 13 Adrian Maebane, 12 Jean-Pierre van Wyk, 11 Arno Marinus van Staden, 10 Andries Abraham Bosman Bruwer, 9 Theodorus Daniel Maree, 8 Mlungisi Floyd Ntimane, 7 Christopher Durow, 6 Richard Jady Coetzee, 5 Armand Naude, 4 Erick van Niekerk, 3 Kgetho Malesela Emmanuel Mabokela, 2 Mohlanye Kleinboy Mmitji Mametsa, 1 James Raymond Pieterse.
Replacements:16 Mogau Makgati Lawrence Mabokela, 17 Henton Minnaar, 18 Nico Bezuidenhout, 19 Mosesile Molaotheo Mahlo Mahlo, 20 Wiaan Cornelesen, 21 Saudevandre A. Rolls, 22 Surprise Ngaka Mathabela.
Boland Team: 15 Raylinn Philander, 14 Warren Patrick Williams, 13 Leolin Lucien Zas, 12 Chemandre Herbert van Schalkwyk, 11 Rohaan Peter Adams, 10 Ewan Curtley Adams, 9 Georon Freben Claasen, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Cheslin Jody-Wayne Korasie, 6 Brand Taljaard, 5 Johannes Willem du Toit, 4 Hermanus Benjamin le Roux, 3 Carl Heydenrych, 2 Martin van Wyk, 1 Tobias Gerhardus Wiese.
Replacements: 16 Tiaan Francois Lambrechts, 17 Willem Adriaan Lombaard, 18 Farrel Keith Nelson Kelly, 19 Jurie Johannes Fick, 20 Kilian von Mollendorff, 21 Fabio Edwin Afrika, 22 Mishaun Anwill Arendse.