Puma ship gets its skipper back

Tue, 03 Sep 2013 06:37
Large juan martin fernandez lobbe Large santiago phelan looks Large felipe contepomi hands on h

Argentina will welcome back a key figure, in one of four changes to the starting fifteen to take on New Zealand on Saturday.

Argentina will welcome back a key figure, in one of four changes to the starting fifteen to take on New Zealand in a Rugby Championship Round Three match in Hamilton on Saturday.

Having missed the opening games of the competition captain Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe returns at blindside flank, with Pablo Matera shifting to openside and Juan Manual Leguizamon moving to No.8.

In the second row Manuel Carizza replaces Mariano Galarza, while Juan Martin Hernandez starts at fullback with Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino joining Galarza among the replacements on the bench.

Coach Santiago Phelan has also sent his most experienced player to the bench, with Felipe Contepomi replaced at inside centre by Santiago Fernandez.

Contepomi captained the side in the opening rounds.

After being overwhelmed 73-13 by South Africa in Soweto in the opening round, the Pumas ran the Springboks close - losing just 17-22 in Mendoza on August 24.

Pumas loose forward Leonardo Senatore has since received a nine-week ban for biting, after the rugged encounter.

However, Pablo Matera has been cleared of eye-gouging.

A judicial hearing found the 20-year-old not guilty of foul play, after the accusations from Springbok flank Francois Louw.

Argentina: 15 Juan Martin Hernandez, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7 Pablo Matera, 6 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (captain), 5 Julio Farias Cabello, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Benjamin Macome, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Felipe Contepomi, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino.

Date: Saturday, September 7
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 19.35 (04.35 Buenos Aires time; 07.35 GMT)
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant referees: Romain Poite (France), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: Matt Goddard (Australia)