Argentina shake things up

Tue, 10 Sep 2013 11:23
Leguizamon-run630 Juan-martin-fernandez-lobbe
Juan Manuel Leguizamón's 50th Test cap

Argentina coach Santiago Phelan has made five changes to his team for their clash with Australia in Perth on Saturday.

In the forward pack hooker Agustín Creevy comes in to the starting line-up ahead of Eusebio Guiñazú who struggled to find his line-out jumpers and was shown a yellow card for repeated breakdown infringements in the defeat to the All Blacks last week.

Scrumhalf Tomás Cubelli will make his first Rugby Championship start, with Martín Landajo dropping to the bench whilst there have been three other changes to the backline.

Wing Juan Imhoff has recovered from injury, and takes the place of the injured Gonzalo Camacho.

The other changes come in the midfield with veteran Felipe Contepomi replacing Santiago Fernandez and Gonzalo Tiesi takes the place of Marcelo Bosch who falls out of the match-day squad altogether.

It will be loose forward Juan Manuel Leguizamón's 50th Test cap for the Pumas as they search for their first-ever Rugby Championship victory against a demoralised Wallabies outfit.

Argentina: 15 Juan Martín Hernández, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12 Felipe Contepomi, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Pablo Matera, 6 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (captain), 5 Julio Farías Cabello, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Marcos Ayerza.  
Replacements: 16 Eusebio Guiñazú, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Benjamín Macome, 21 Martín Landajo, 22 Santiago Fernández, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.

Date: Saturday, September 14
Venue: Patersons Stadium, Perth
Kick-off: 18.05 (20.05 AEST; 07.05 Argentina time; 10.05 GMT)
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)