Tietjens keeps the core

Wed, 11 Sep 2013 11:01
Large tietjens630 Large gordon tietjens   dj forber Large gordon tietjens speaks

All Black coach Gordon Tietjens has named the training squad to prepare for the Gold Coast Sevens, the opening round of the 2013/13 IRB World Series.

All Black coach Gordon Tietjens has named the training squad to prepare for the Gold Coast Sevens, the opening round of the 2013/13 IRB World Series.

The first tournament of the World Series takes place at Skilled Park, Gold Coast, October 12 and 13.

The final team of 12 will be named after a training camp in Mount Maunganui in early October.

The squad includes a core of 13 players who were part of the successful All Black Sevens team that won the 2012/13 Sevens World Series and World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow.

A number of players were unavailable after choosing to focus on fifteens.

This includes Kurt Baker, who has signed with the Highlanders.

Ben Lam was also unavailable as he continues to recover from injury.

Tietjens said the squad was a pleasing mix of experience and exciting new talent.

"The start of any season is a time when we rebuild, but I am really happy to have a core group of players who have served the team well over the last season so we start from a great base," the coach said.

"I have also brought into the squad a number of young players who have caught my eye and this will be a good opportunity for them to get a feel for our training environment and work hard for possible selection.

"We are really excited about the season ahead, building up to the Commonwealth Games next July so it will be great to get back on the pitch again and get our preparations firmly underway."
The squad assembles in Mount Maunganui on Monday, September 30.
New Zealand: Tomasi Cama, Scott Curry, Ambrose Curtis, Sam Dickson, DJ Forbes, Sam Gavigan, Kali Hala, Mark Jackman, Gillies Kaka, Rocky Khan, Luke Masiwera, Tim Mikkelson, Kara Pryor, Lote Raikabula, Sherwin Stowers, Rob Thompson, Belgium Tuatagaloa, Joe Webber, Gareth Williams-Spiers.

Crusaders vs Brumbies
sast: 08h35 | local: 19h35

  • 7 | 0
Sat, 25 February 2017
Waratahs v Force 08h45 Allianz Park
Saracens v Sale Sharks 12h45 Allianz Park
Exeter Chiefs v Newcastle Falcons 13h00 Sandy Park
Northampton Saints v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Franklin's Gardens
Cheetahs v Lions 13h05 Bloemfontein
Scotland v Wales 14h25 BT Murrayfield
Kings v Jaguares 15h15 Port Elizabeth
Ireland v France 16h50 Aviva Stadium
Stormers v Bulls 17h30 Cape Town
Sun, 26 February 2017
Bristol v Bath 11h00 Ashton Gate
Zebre v Ulster 12h30 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Treviso v Connacht 12h30 Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Wasps v Gloucester 12h30 Ricoh Arena
Ospreys v Glasgow Warriors 13h05 Liberty Stadium
England v Italy 15h00 Twickenham Stadium
Mon, 27 February 2017
UCT-Ikeys v Maties 14h45 Cape Town
UWC v TUT 16h30 Cape Town
UP-Tuks v Wits 16h30 Pretoria
CPUT v UKZN-Impi 16h30 Cape Town
CUT-Ixias v UJ 16h30 Bloemfontein
Rhodes v Fort Hare 16h30 Grahamstown
Shimlas v NWU-Pukke 17h00 Bloemfontein
Thu, 02 March 2017
Force v Reds 10h30 Perth
Fri, 03 March 2017
Chiefs v Blues 06h35 Hamilton
Connacht v Zebre 19h35 Ascoli Piceno
Edinburgh v Ospreys 19h35 Myreside
Ulster v Treviso 19h35 Kingspan Stadium
Sale Sharks v Northampton Saints 20h15 AJ Bell Stadium
Sat, 04 March 2017
Hurricanes v Rebels 04h15 Wellington
Sat, 25 February 2017
Sunwolves v Hurricanes 17 | 83
Fri, 24 February 2017
Munster v Scarlets 21 | 30
Dragons v Leinster 22 | 54
Edinburgh v Cardiff Blues 17 | 18
Harlequins v Leicester Tigers 18 | 27
Reds v Sharks 28 | 26
Highlanders v Chiefs 15 | 24
Thu, 23 February 2017
Rebels v Blues 18 | 56
Tue, 21 February 2017
CUT-Ixias v Shimlas 13 | 22
Mon, 20 February 2017
UJ v UP-Tuks 18 | 11
Maties v NMMU-Madibaz 35 | 16
UKZN-Impi v Fort Hare 16 | 10
NWU-Pukke v UCT-Ikeys 20 | 15
TUT v WSU 13 | 17
UWC v Rhodes 88 | 8
Pool 00
Team P W D L Pts
Papua New Guinea 0 1 0 0 1
Pool 19
Team P W D L Pts
England Sevens 0 0 0 0 19
Pool 20
Team P W D L Pts
Uganda Sevens 0 0 0 0 2
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Fiji Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Scotland Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Canada Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Samoa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Australia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
France Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool C
Team P W D L Pts
United States Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Argentina Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Japan Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool D
Team P W D L Pts
South Africa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Russia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Team P W D L Pts
Wales Sevens