England to run pre-WC gauntlet

Fri, 04 Oct 2013 12:43
Manutuilagiboks Chris-robshaw-england-troph Owen-farrell-england

England will host the Springboks in one of four consecutive Tests in November 2014 in preparation for the 2015 World Cup.

The demanding schedule will see England face New Zealand, South Africa, Samoa and Australia at Twickenham in successive weeks.

England head coach Stuart Lancaster said: “To be able to take on these teams in successive weeks is ideal preparation for the World Cup and will tell us a lot about where we are one year out.

“All four are tough opponents and we are looking forward to the challenge.”

The schedule is subject to final International Rugby Board approval.

England's November 2014 schedule:

Saturday, November 8: England v New Zealand
Saturday, November 15: England v South Africa
Saturday, November 22: England v Samoa
Saturday, November 29: England v Australia