Nikola cleared after 'accidental bite'
Thu, 31 Oct 2013 08:15
Glasgow Warriors scrumhalf Nikola Matawalu has been cleared on a charge of biting an opponent.
Matawalu appeared before a Pro12 disciplinary committee in Cardiff, having been cited for an alleged incident of foul play - biting Munster's Donncha O'Callaghan, contrary to Law 10.4(m), in the Pro12 match between Glasgow Warriors and Munster last Friday.
The Committee, chaired by Roger Morris (Wales) - and supported by Rhian Williams (Wales) and Marco Cordelli (Italy) - heard evidence and submissions on behalf the disciplinary officer and Matawalu.
After a hearing lasting three-and-a-half hours, the committee found, on the balance of probabilities, that while Matawalu's teeth had come into contact with O'Callaghan's arm, causing injury, this contact was accidental and therefore not an act of foul play.
Accordingly, the citing was dismissed.
The Committee said that they had been impressed with the evidence given by all concerned, including O'Callaghan and Matawalu, and that they had no doubt that the citing commissioner was right to bring the complaint.
Nikola Matawalu is free to resume playing immediately.
|South African news|
|» From a deep dark pit comes belief|
|» Cheika in Vic and Bakkies farewell|
|» McCaw try: Referees in public spat|
|» The best of enemies|
|» Du Plessis, Louw out for Pumas|