Tietjens brings in four newcomers

Wed, 06 Nov 2013 07:45
Large marty mckenzie southland Large tietjens630

Gordon Tietjens has contracted four new players in his team for the next stage of the IRB Sevens World Series.

Gordon Tietjens has contracted four new players in his team for the next stage of the IRB Sevens World Series.

The newcomers are former New Zealand Under-20 player and Southland back Marty McKenzie, and  Wellington speedster Ambrose Curtis, who made his debut at the Gold Coast Sevens. Young Waikato players Declan O'Donnell and Joe Webber also return to the squad having last played in 2011 and 2012 respectively.
Four additional players will be contracted by early next year as part of the wider training group.

Tietjens said he was very pleased with the calibre of players who have committed to the All Black Sevens over the next year.

"This is a very strong squad with a core group of players who have performed consistently well for the team, particularly in the past season, together with some exciting young talent who will help build depth as we move towards the Olympics in 2016," Tietjens said.

"The really good news is that we now have eight specialist sevens players. This is all part of our plan to build a group of players who can devote themselves to sevens and so play their part in helping us win gold at Rio in 2016."

New Zealand next play at the Dubai Sevens on November 29 and 30, which is the second tournament in the 2013/14 IRB Sevens World Series.

The All Blacks Sevens currently lead the series having won the opening tournament of the series, the Gold Coast Sevens last month.

Players contracted to the New Zealand Sevens squad: Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), Scott Curry (TBA), Ambrose Curtis (Wellington), Sam Dickson (Canterbury), DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau), Bryce Heem (Tasman), Ben Lam (Auckland), Mark Jackman (Canterbury), Gillies Kaka (Hawke's Bay), Marty McKenzie (Southland), Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Waisake Naholo (Taranaki), Declan O'Donnell (Waikato), David Raikuna (North Harbour), Lote Raikabula (Wellington), Sherwin Stowers (Counties Manukau), Joe Webber (Waikato).

There are currently no matches being played
Mon, 20 February 2017
CUT-Ixias v Shimlas 14h45 Bloemfontein
TUT v WSU 16h30 Pretoria
UWC v Rhodes 16h30 Cape Town
UKZN-Impi v Fort Hare 16h30 Durban
Maties v NMMU-Madibaz 16h30 Stellenbosch
NWU-Pukke v UCT-Ikeys 16h30 Potchefstroom
UJ v UP-Tuks 17h00 Johannesburg
Thu, 23 February 2017
Rebels v Blues 08h45 Melbourne
Fri, 24 February 2017
Highlanders v Chiefs 06h35 Dunedin
Reds v Sharks 09h00 Brisbane
Harlequins v Leicester Tigers 17h45 Twickenham Stoop
Edinburgh v Cardiff Blues 19h05 Myreside
Dragons v Leinster 19h30 Rodney Parade
Munster v Scarlets 19h35 Thomond Park
Sat, 25 February 2017
Sunwolves v Hurricanes 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Brumbies 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Force 08h45 Allianz Park
Saracens v Sale Sharks 12h45 Allianz Park
Northampton Saints v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Franklin's Gardens
Exeter Chiefs v Newcastle Falcons 13h00 Sandy Park
Cheetahs v Lions 13h05 Bloemfontein
Scotland v Wales 14h25 BT Murrayfield
Kings v Jaguares 15h15 Port Elizabeth
Ireland v France 16h50 Aviva Stadium
Stormers v Bulls 17h30 Cape Town
Sun, 26 February 2017
Bristol v Bath 11h00 Ashton Gate
Zebre v Ulster 12h30 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Treviso v Connacht 12h30 Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Wasps v Gloucester 12h30 Ricoh Arena
Ospreys v Glasgow Warriors 13h05 Liberty Stadium
England v Italy 15h00 Twickenham Stadium
Pool 00
Team P W D L Pts
Papua New Guinea 0 1 0 0 1
Pool 19
Team P W D L Pts
England Sevens 0 0 0 0 19
Pool 20
Team P W D L Pts
Uganda Sevens 0 0 0 0 2
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Fiji Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Scotland Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Canada Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Samoa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Australia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
France Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool C
Team P W D L Pts
United States Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Argentina Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Japan Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool D
Team P W D L Pts
South Africa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Russia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Team P W D L Pts
Wales Sevens