Triangular starts in Windhoek

Fri, 08 Nov 2013 10:05

Namibia has been able to call in its overseas players


On Friday night in Windhoek Namibia plays Zimbabwe to start three days of international rugby, featuring Kenya, Zimbabwe and hosts Namibia.

The tournament, supported by the IRB, is important as in June next year there will be a tournament in Madagascar to decide who, apart from South Africa, will qualify as the African team for the 2015 World Cup in London.

All three teams have been involved in tournaments this year - Kenya and Zimbabwe in Madagascar and Namibia in Senegal. In Senegal Madagascar beat Namibia 57-54 - but a different Namibian side that will take part in the Windhoek tournament. In the Madagascar tournament both Kenya and Zimbabwe beat Madagascar, with Kenya beating Zimbabwe 29-11.

The tournament in June 2014 will comprise Kenya, Madagascar, Namibia and Zimbabwe. The winner will go to the World Cup and the runner-up will compete in répechage for an outside chance to get to London as well. Zimbabwe went to the first two World Cups, Namibia to the last three. At present the IRB ranks Namibia 23rd, Kenya 31st, Zimbabwe 33rd and Madagascar 37th.

At last year's triangular tournament, Namibia lost to both Zimbabwe and Spain.

The two referees for the Windhoek tournament are Jacky Husselmann, the chairman of referees in Namibia, and Jonathan Kaplan who will be breaking his own record for Tests refereed when he moves it up to 70. The Namibians are excited to have a referee of his astonishing achievements at the tournament. His first Test was Zimbabwe against Namibia in Harare and he is the last South African to referee a Test involving the Springboks - when Namibia played them at Newlands in 2007.

For the Windhoek tournament, Namibia has been able to call in its overseas players with the exception of Saracen Jacques Burger who was named Player of September in England's Premiership. Burger hopes to play for Namibia at the World Cup but feels, after his long injury, that he needs the help of his club's medics and needs to repay all his club has done for him. He made a great name for himself captaining Namibia at the 2011 World Cup in New Zealand. But back in the side are Chrysander Botha, André Schlechter, Jaco Engels, Tinus du Plessis, Rohan Kitshoff, Theuns Kotzé, Eugene Jantjies, Sergio de la Harpe, Johan Deysel  and Cooper Smit. The captain is eighthman Pieter-Jan van Lill  and contains two promising Under-19 players - hooker Louis van der Westhuizen and lock Janco Venter.

The Sables of Zimbabwe also have some overseas players - Nick Winwood, Kevin Nqindi who plays prop for Belhar RFC in Cape Town, Royal Mwale, Michael Passaportis, a lock who plays in France, Martin Wolfenden, Kingsley Lang, Andrew Rose, Hilton Mudariki and Sean Moan.


15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Sergio de la Harpe,13 Johan Tromp, 12 Darryl de la Harpe, 11 Heinrich Smit, 10 Theuns Kotzé, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 8 PJ van Lill (captain), 7 Tinus du Plessis, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 Morné Blom, 4 Munee Tjiueza, 3 André Schlechter, 2 Rathony Bekker, 1 Jaco Engels
Replacements: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen, 17 Johnny Redelinghuys, 18 Shaun du Preez, 19 Stefan Neustädt, 20 Janco Venter, 21 Eneill Buitendag, 22 Johan Deysel, 23 Justin Nel

Zimbabwe from: Lungile Tshuma, Tangai Nemadire, Stephan Hunduza, Gardner Nechironga, Daniel Hondo (captain), Sean Moan, Boyd Rouse, Lenience Tambwera, Tichafara Makwanya, Phil Machisa, Hilton Mudariki, Kingsley Lang, Fortune Chipendo, Jacques Leitao, Andrew Rose, Jan Ferreira, Michael Passaportis, Martin Wolfenden, Keith Murray, Royal Mwale, Nick Winwood, Pieter Joubert, Kevin Nqindi, Fidel Nyabusha

Fixtures with match officials

7 November 2013

Namibia vs Zimbabwe at the Hage Geingob Stadium
Kick-off: 19.30
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jacky Husselmann (Namibia), Danie Koen (Namibia)
Timekeeper: André van Rooyen (Namibia)
Match Commissioner: Danie von Solms (Namibia)

12 November 2013
Kenya vs Zimbabwe at the Hage Geingob Stadium
Referee: Jacky Husselmann (Namibia)
Assistant referees: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Danie Koen (Namibia)
Timekeeper: André van Rooyen (Namibia)
Match Commissioner: Danie von Solms (Namibia)

16 November 2013
Namibia vs Kenya at the Hage Geingob Stadium
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jacky Husselmann (Namibia), Oscar Lambert (Namibia)
Timekeeper: André van Rooyen (Namibia)
Match Commissioner: Danie von Solms (Namibia)