Oxford aiming for four on the trot

Wed, 11 Dec 2013 20:09
A feat not before achieved by a captain of either university

Oxford have won the Varsity Match for the last three years and this time they have 13 Blues back from last year when the Dark Blues won 26-19.

The only non-Blues in the team are fullback Jacob Taylor, an Australian Rhodes Scholar who has represented Australia at Sevens, and tighthead Ian Williams.

Cambridge have six Blues in their side: centre Kristian Cook, prop Will Briggs, the captain, and his fellow prop Frank Sanders, lock Scott Annett, flank Max Mather, and replacement Andrew Abraham.

John Carter leads his side for the third consecutive year, a feat not before achieved by a captain of either university.

Alexander Macdonald, who is on the Oxford bench, is the son of an Oxford Blue and the nephew of two Oxford Blues. His father Dugald played for South Africa, his uncle Donald for Scotland. Like his father and his uncles he was at school at the Diocesan College (Bishops) in Cape Town.

On Thursday, 12 December 2013, Twickenham, opens its gates at 11.00 for the Under-21 match, which Oxford have won for the last two years.

The main match kicks off at 14.00.


15 Jacob Taylor (Keble), 14 Henry Hughes (Magdalen), 13 Matt Janney (Oriel), 12 Gav Turner (Kellogg), 11 Henry Lamont (New), 10 Jonathan Hudson (Lincoln), 9 Samson Egerton (Keble), 8 John Carter (Kellogg) (captain), 7 Gus Jones (St Catherine’s), 6 James Harris (Kellogg), 5 Michael Rickner (St Anne’s), 4 Will Rowlands (Pembroke), 3 Ian Williams (Kellogg), 2 Nick Gardner (Lincoln), 1 Lewis Anderson (Trinity).
Replacements: 16 Fraser Heathcote (St Edmund Hall), 17 James Wisson (St Anne’s), 18 Hamish Macdonald (Wadham), 19 Tom Reeson-Price (St John’s), 20 Graeme MacGilchrist (University), 21 Matthew Shorthose (University), 22 Alexander Macdonald (St Peter’s), 23 Edward Doe (Kellogg).

Cambridge: 15 Toby May (Homerton), 14 Nick Jones (Selwyn), 13 Courtenay Morrison (Hughes), 12 Kristian Cooke (Hughes), 11 Andy Murdoch (Hughes), 10 Donald Stevens (St Edmund's), 9 Harry Peck (Homerton), 8 Sam Farmer (Wolfson), 7 Andrew Smith (Churchill), 6 Max Mather (Downing), 5 Jack Baker (St John's), 4 Scott Annett (Clare), 3 Frank Sanders (Magdalene), 2 Tom Pascoe (St John's), 1 Will Briggs (captain) (Magdalene).
Replacements: 16 Patrick Calvert (St John's), 17 Will Yeeles (Robinson), 18 Sam Alderson (Goneville and Caius), 19 Nick Viljoen (Jesus), 20 Charlie O’Sullivan (Homerton), 21 Ilia Cherezov (St John's), 22 Andrew Abrahams (Homerton), 23 James Boyd-Moss (Fitzwilliam).

Referee: Matthew Carley