Rolling subs for Lions and Leopards

Tue, 21 Jan 2014 09:58

Lions coach Johan Ackermann named two 28-man sides to face the Leopards, in his team's first Super Rugby warm-up matches.

Both games, scheduled for 16.30 and 19.00, will take place at Ellis Park on Friday.

A rolling substitution system will be in place for both matches, as the games will act as opportunities to test and assess various combinations.

Entrance to both matches is free to the public.


Lions - Match One: 15 Kobus de Kock, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Nicolas Hanekom, 12 Adriaan Engelbrecht, 11 Juan Swanepoel, 10 Brendon Hewitt, 9 Ricky Schroeder, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Thabo Mamojele, 6 Thabo Mabuza, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Lourence Erasmus, 3 Nico van Zyl, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tyson Mulamba.
Replacements - from: Mark Pretorius, David Kounga, Ruan Venter, MB Lusaseni, Stephan de Wit, Stephan Vermeulen, Jano Venter, Guy Cronje, Ruan van Rensburg, Carlisle Nel, Robert de Bruyn, Caswell Khoza, Hanco Deale.

Date: Friday, January 24
Venue: Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Referee: Lihan Pretorius

Lions - Match Two: 15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 Vainon Willis, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Francois de Klerk, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Derick Minnie (captain), 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Corne Fourie, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements - from: Willie Wepener, Charles Marais, Jacobus Roux, Martin Muller, Cyle Brink, Lambert Groenewald, Ross Cronje, Jaco van der Walt, Lionel Mapoe, Deon van Rensburg, Deon Helberg, Alwyn Hollenbach, Chrysander Botha.

Date: Friday, January 24
Venue: Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referees: Pro Legoete, Ben Crouse