Varsity tournament set for kick-off

Sun, 26 Jan 2014 11:37
Large johnmitchellukzn Large wits

The waiting is finally over and the 2014 Varsity Cup season will get going on Monday with the first Varsity Shield matches.

The waiting is finally over and the 2014 Varsity Cup season will get going on Monday with the first Varsity Shield matches.

With promotion to the Varsity Cup on the line this season, competition in the Shield will be fierce from the outset as all five teams gun for a place in the Final.

The winner of the Shield will automatically secure a spot in the top tier of the Varsity Cup next year, whilst the runners-up will go into a play-off with the team that finishes seventh in the Varsity Cup.

Monday will also offer fans a chance to experience some of the new innovations this year, as the new-look prop jerseys and the 'Free Catch Rule' will be on show, with both matches broadcast live.

The specially designed jerseys for props feature grip pads which will help with binding in the scrums, whilst the Free Catch Rule means that the ball can be marked anywhere on the field if caught on the full to gain advantage.

Both of these innovations are intended to encourage free-flowing, running rugby that will showcase the players' skills and thrill the crowds.

The first match of the season will see defending champions CUT go up against former All Black coach John Mitchell's UKZN Impi in Bloemfontein.

The CUT Ixias have played in all three Varsity Shield finals, lifting the trophy twice, and went unbeaten last year to stamp their dominance on the competition.

They will be desperate to continue that consistent dominance in order to move up to the Varsity Cup next year, but they face a tricky first hurdle against a revamped UKZN outfit.

The KwaZulu-Natal side finished third last year, and have their sights set even higher this season with the ambitious Mitchell at the helm.

The experienced Kiwi coach has made some major changes, including an impressive coaching team which features the likes of former Springbok flyhalf Butch James.

Mitchell told that he has also brought in a host of new players as the Impi look to establish themselves as a major force in the Varsity tournament

"We are quite a new side, there are probably half a dozen that are from the past, and we are probably a bit older this year from what we have brought in.

"Our aim as an organisation and as a team is that we want to play in the Varsity Cup. It is a good year because there is promotion/relegation as well.

"Whether we achieve that goal this year who knows, it will depend on how well we come together as a team," he said.

If they want to make an early statement, then their opening match against the Ixias in Bloemfontein is the perfect opportunity, as CUT have proven themselves to be the most consistent performers in the competition.

The second match of the night will see former Springbok coach Peter de Villiers' UWC travel to Alice to take on the Fort Hare Blues at their Davidson Rugby Stadium fortress.

The Cape side made the Varsity Shield final for the first time under De Villiers' guidance last year, and they are intent on going one better this season.

However, they will certainly have their work cut out for them against a settled Fort Hare team that will have the fanatical Alice crowd squarely behind them in their opening match.

Fort Hare skipper Billy Dutton said that his team is intent on repaying their loyal supporters who always pack the stadium whenever they play in Alice.

"The fans are hungry, they have been asking us when it is kicking off so next week is going to be a big one for us and they will be out in their numbers and they are looking forward to a good season this year," he said.

Fort Hare have shown that they cannot be underestimated, but Dutton has called for the Eastern Cape side to take their game to the next level this season by putting in 80-minute performances.

"We just have to concentrate for a full 80 minutes, we let it go sometimes here and there, and we don't finish off games when we have a stranglehold on a team," he said.

This all makes for a thrilling opening round to get the Varsity Rugby season underway.

Varsity Shield fixtures and team line-ups:

(CUT Rugby Stadium, Bloemfontein; Monday, January 27 - 16:45)

CUT: 15 Kholo Ramashala, 14 Alec Mhlango, 13 Johan van Schalkwyk, 12 Charles Hitchcock, 11 Duan Pretorius, 10 Noel Marx, 9 Marius Grobler, 8 Juan Hugo, 7 Frans Sisita, 6 Bolofo Mokoea, 5 Fanie Coetzer, 4 Lyvette Shikwambana, 3 Danie Van der Merwe, 2 Deon Gouws, 1 Len Noort.    
Replacements: 16 Gerhard Baard, 17 Carl Gersbach, 18 Ian Van Wyk, 19 Vincent Maruping, 20 Stephan Griesel, 21 Mosego Toolo, 22 Dean Kouprihanoff, 23 Hanro Liebenberg.    

UKZN: 15 Brandon Bailing, 14 Shayne Makombe, 13 Hendrik Lategan, 12 Garath Meikle, 11 Hendrik Groenewald, 10 Brandon Cope, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Deon Carney, 7 Zwela Zondi, 6 Lwazi Ngcungama (captain), 5 Johan Wagenaar, 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 Leon Mulder, 2 Dean Muir, 1 Henri Boshoff.     
Replacements: 16 Matthew Mandioma, 17 Stefan van schalkwyk, 18 Adam Wessels, 19 Sanele Malwane, 20 Nelson Makhanye, 21 Gavin Nyawata, 22 Mondli Ntshingila, 23 Sizwe Kuhbeka.     

Referee: Jaco Kotze

(Davidson Rugby Stadium, Alice; Monday, January 27 - 19:00)

UFH: 15 Saneliso Ngoma, 14 Garth van Rayner, 13 Lundi Ralarala, 12 Mgwadleka Lithabile, 11 Sonqishe Mkhululi, 10 Oliver Zono, 9 Bangihlombe Kobese, 8 Manentsa Athi, 7 Billy Dutton (captain), 6 Onke Dubase, 5 Masixole David, 4 Mzwandile Yalezo, 3 Xola Mapapu, 2 Thembelihle Mpapha, 1 Lwando Mabenge.
Replacements: 16 Madoda Ludidi, 17 Siyabulela Sijula, 18 Olwethu Mputla, 19 Ntyatyambo Mkhafu, 20 Andile Makinana, 21 Sibabalwe Mtsulwana, 22 Khanyiso Komani, 23 Sibabalwe Tshoni.    

UWC: 15 James Verity-Amm, 14 Quaid Langeveldt, 13 Kenwinn Wiener, 12 Yondela Stampu, 11 Minenhle Mthethwa, 10 Dale van Schalkwyk, 9 Freddie Muller (captain), 8 Heinrich Marcus, 7 Njabulo Ndlovu, 6 Matthew Faught, 5 Jose Julies, 4 Pallo Manuel, 3 Brandon Beukman, 2 Timothy Louw, 1 Kelvin de Bruyn.    
Replacements: 16 Michael Mkhize, 17 Tahriq Allen, 18 Sebenza Maphumulo, 19 Samuel Borsah, 20 Dumisani Dyonase, 21 Melikhaya Wana, 22 Keanu Langeveldt, 23 Philbrey Joseph.    

Referee: Lusanda Jam