Tukkies last left standing

Mon, 17 Feb 2014 19:58
Large tuksshimlas 2014 640

Defending champions UP-Tuks were the only side left unbeaten after the third round of the 2014 Varsity Cup on Monday.

Defending champions UP-Tuks were the only side left unbeaten after the third round of the 2014 Varsity Cup on Monday.
The Pretoria side stormed to a comfortable 26-0 victory over UFS-Shimlas in front of their home crowd on a night which saw pace-setters NWU-Pukke and NMMU both lose on home turf.
NWU-Pukke started the evening on top of the standings following bonus-point wins in the first two rounds, but they had their colours lowered in Potchefstroom by a desperate FNB Maties side.
It was Maties' first win of the season, after going down to NMMU and UCT, and the four-try victory on the road will give the three-time champions plenty of confidence as they look to recover from their disappointing start to the season.
It was a good night for the Cape sides as the FNB Ikey Tigers followed up their win over Maties in Stellenbosch last week by beating the NMMU Madibaz in Port Elizabeth to reclaim the Monte Taljaard trophy.
NMMU have held the trophy which is played for in memory of former UCT and Grey PE flank Monte Taljaard for the last two years, but will have to give it back after losing their first game at home since 2012. 
In the early game FNB UJ proved simply too strong for their Johannesburg rivals FNB Wits, scoring four tries to notch their first victory of the season and get their campaign properly up and running. 
Wits remain rooted to the bottom of the table without a single log point as they continue to search for their first win in the competition.
This leaves UP-Tuks in pole position, just one log point ahead of NWU-Pukke, whilst the Madibaz and the Ikeys round off the top four.
UJ's victory has them up in fifth position, with Maties and UFS-Shimlas tied on six points with one win and two bonus points each.
The Varsity Shield saw two away wins as defending champions CUT continued their unbeaten run by beating the TUT Vikings in Pretoria whilst John Mitchell's UKZN secured their first win of the season against Peter de Villiers' UWC in Bellville.
In the Varsity Young Guns competition UP-Tuks maintained their flawless record with a hard-fought 28-24 victory over UFS, and in Port Elizabeth NMMU and UCT ended deadlocked on 13-13.
In the opening fixtures of the Steinhoff Koshuisrugby Championship last year's beaten finalists Medies from Maties demolished NMMU's Oppidani in Port Elizabeth and UJ's Majuba were too strong for Humanities from Wits.
The full list of scorers and teams in Round Three:
UJ 32 WITS 15
For UJ:
Tries: Haznar, Nel, MacDonald 2
Cons: Schmidt 3
For Wits:
Tries: Fraser, Jonck
Con: Torrance
Pen: Torrance
UJ: 15 Marais Schmidt, 14 PJ Walters, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Michael Haznar, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Jacques Pretorius (captain), 8 Rhynaard van Wyk, 7 Dylan Peterson, 6 Tiaan MacDonald, 5 David Antonites, 4 Jeremy Jordaan, 3 Van Zyl Botha, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 Wiseman Kamanga.
Replacements: 16 Jannes Snyman, 17 Devon Martinus, 18 Shane Kirkwood, 19 Victor Sekekete, 20 Lukas van Zyl, 21 Juan Kotze, 22 Peter Morton, 23 Hendrik Bredenkamp.
Wits: 15 Ruhan Nel, 14 Jacques Erasmus, 13 Nkuli Gamede, 12 Mandla Dube, 11 Joshua Jarvis, 10 Ashlon Davids, 9 Mathew Torrance, 8 Senna Esterhuizen, 7 JP Jonck, 6 Peter van Biljon, 5 Rendani Ramovha, 4 Devin Montgomery (captain), 3 Gideon Muller, 2 Ashley Kohler, 1 Hannes Ludick.
Replacements: 16 James Marx, 17 Kyle Wood, 18 Conor Brockschmidt, 19 Thato Mavundla, 20 Divan Ferguson, 21 Ish Nkolo, 22 Jason Fraser, 23 Kelly Ferdinand.
For UP-Tuks:
Tries: Smit, Liebenberg, Hugo
Cons: Schoeman 3
Pen: Schoeman
UP-Tuks: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Jade Stighling, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Ryan Nell, 11 Kefentse Mahlo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Carlo Engelbrecht, 8 Rudolph Smith, 7 Wiaan Liebenberg, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 Reniel Hugo (captain), 4 Dennis Visser, 3 Basil Short, 2 Sidney Tobias, 1 Juan Schoeman.
Replacements: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Brummer Badenhorst, 18 Jannes Kirsten, 19 Leneve Damens, 20 Emile Temperman, 22 Francois Tredoux, 22 Jacques Rossouw, 23 Andrew Beerwinkel.
UFS-Shimlas: 15 AJ Coertzen, 14 Mapuhta Dolo, 13 Robbie van Schalkwyk, 12 Joubert Engelbrecht (captain), 11 Sethu Tom, 10 Gouws Prinsloo, 9 Kevin Luiters, 8 Neill Jordaan, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Neil Claassen, 4 Armandt Koster, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 Rudolf Botha.
Replacements: 16 Gideon Bruwer, 17 Franco van der Merwe, 18 Fanie van der Walt, 19 Johan van der Hoogt, 20 Kay-Kay Hlongwane, 21 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 22 Divandré Strydom, 23 Justin Pappin.
For NWU-Pukke:
Tries: Obi, Labuschagne, Smit
Cons: Engelbrecht 2
For Maties:
Tries: De Villiers, Kôtze, Du Preez, Jordaan
Cons: Du Preez 3
Pens: Du Preez 2
NWU-Pukke: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Edmar Marais, 13 Sylvain Mahuza, 12 Adriaan Engelbrecht, 11 Luther Obi, 10 Johnny Welthagen, 9 Tiaan Dorfling (captain), 8 Rhyk Welgemoed, 7 Henro-Pierre Swart, 6 Robey Labuschagne, 5 Francois Robbertse, 4 Peet van der Walt, 3 Elardus Venter, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Johan Smith.
Replacements: 16 Jacques Vermaak, 17 Mashudu Malefa, 18 Daniel Jordaan, 19 Jaco Buys, 20 Dillon Smit, 21 Johan Deysel, 22 Lucian Cupido, 23 Lhlanhla Ngoama.
Maties: 15 Craig Barry, 14 Clearance Khumalo, 13 Mark Hodgskiss, 12 Johnny Kôtze, 11 Caleb Smith, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Jean Nel, 8 Tertius Daniller (captain), 7 Helmut Lehmann, 6 Beyers de Villiers, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Nicol Heyns, 2 Freddie Kirsten, 1 Niel Oelofse.
Replacements: 16 Charl de Villiers, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Renier Ehlers, 19 Lungelo Chonco, 20 Louis Nel, 21 Chris Smith, 22 Louis Jordaan, 23 Liam Hendricks.
NMMU 13 UCT 26
For the NMMU Madibaz:
Tries: Bernardt, Acker
Con: Hauptfleisch
For the UCT:
Tries: McDonald, Xoli, Stewart
Cons: Grant 3
Pen: Grant
NMMU: 15 Donovan Marais, 14 Tythan Adams, 13 Michael Bernardt, 12 Andile Jho, 11 Yamkela Ngam, 10 Gavin Hauptfleisch, 9 Daniel Acker, 8 Timothy Agaba, 7 Wade Elliot, 6  Christopher Cloete, 5 Louis Fourie, 4 Stefan Willemse, 3 Simon Kerrod, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Roy Godfrey (captain).
Replacements: 16 Jody Reyneke, 17 Abongile Mnyaka, 18 Matthew Tweedle, 19 Andre Barnard, 20 Ivan Ludick, 21 Stefanus Booysen, 22 Ayabula Dlepu, 23 Kewan Voysey.
UCT: 15 Martin Sauls, 14 Richard Stewart, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Nicholas Holton, 11 Lihleli Xoli, 10 Dean Grant, 9 Liam Slatem (captain), 8 Guy Alexander, 7 Shaun McDonald, 6 Jason Klaasen, 5 James Kilroe, 4 Jan Uys, 3 Digby Webb, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Joel Carew.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Michael Kennedy, 18 Vince Jobo, 19 Zakeyo Tinetenda, 20 James Alexander, 21 Ross Jones-Davies, 22 Suwilanji Chibale, 23 David Maasch.