Heavy axe after Chiefs' first defeat

Thu, 27 Mar 2014 18:44

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie wielded a very axe after his team's first defeat of the Super Rugby season.

Following the dismal showing in Perth last week, where the Western Force won 18-15, Rennie made eight changes for their Round Seven encounter with the Bulls in Pretoria on Saturday.

Rennie has dropped five forwards to the bench.

Prop Pauliasi Manu, hooker Rhys Marshall, lock Matt Symons, flank Tanerau Latimer and No.8 Kane Thompson all return to the starting XV up front.

In the backs 18-year-old Andrew Lienert Brown makes his debut on the right wing, with Mils Muliaina moving to fullback in place of Gareth Anscombe.

Tim Nanai Williams, who tweaked his hamstring in Perth, drops to the replacement bench with Andrew Horrell starting at centre.

Ben Afeaki will start off the bench and is joined by All Blacks Jamie Mackintosh, Sam Cane and Gareth Anscombe, as well as Samoan international Mahonri Schwalger and Michael Fitzgerald.

Chiefs: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Anton Lienert-Brown, 13 Andrew Horrell, 12 Tom Marshall, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden (captain), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Jamie Mackintosh, 18 Ben Afeaki, 19 Michael Fitzgerald, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Tim Nanai-Williams.

Date: Saturday, March 29
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 15.00 (13.00 GMT; 02.00 Sunday, March 30 NZ time)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Stuart Berry (South Africa), Marc van Zyl (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)