Seymour score boosts Warriors

Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:59
Large tommy seymour

Tommy Seymour's dramatic late try saw Glasgow Warriors clinch a nail-biting 11-9 victory over Pro12 rivals the Ospreys at Scotstoun on Friday.

Tommy Seymour's dramatic late try saw Glasgow Warriors clinch a nail-biting 11-9 victory over Pro12 rivals the Ospreys at Scotstoun on Friday.

Seymour dived over on 75 minutes and the try was award after consultation with the TMO, just three minutes after Dan Biggar's drop-goal handed the impetus to the visitors.

In a tight match that was locked at 6-6, Biggar was on target on 72 minutes but after a break and kick forward from Niko Matawalu, Seymour dotted down to win the match for the hosts.

Ospreys' losing bonus point keeps them in fourth, one point and one place above the Warriors, but the Scots have two games in hand in the race for the play-offs.

The first half was a cagey affair but it was the Ospreys who enjoyed the better of the early possession but couldn't find a way through the Warriors defence.

It was then the hosts' turn to step onto the front foot and after a kick for the corner by Duncan Weir, the Warriors had a lineout deep into Ospreys territory.

It came to nothing in the end and niggling injuries ensured for a stop start affair, with neither side able to build any momentum.

On 19 minutes however, the deadlock was finally broken - Dan Biggar nailing a fine penalty to give the visitors a lead their endeavours just about deserved.

The Ospreys came again and were looking threatening but not for the first time, the pass went forward and the Warriors were able to clear their lines.

A knock-on from Warriors' Matawalu in his own 22 gave the Ospreys some promising possession but their scrum collapsed and Weir was able to clear his side's lines.

Warriors then mounted a late assault through Alex Dunbar but the centre could find no way through, ensuring they went into the half-time interval, trailing 3-0.

After the break the chess match continued but on seven minutes the Warriors were finally able to level things up when Weir was on target from the tee.

Four minutes later, the Ospreys were awarded a penalty on the Warriors' ten-metre line and Biggar opted for touch but the Warriors stole the ball at the lineout and again cleared.

And the Warriors edged themselves ahead on 58 minutes when Weir again bisected the posts from the tee.

The Ospreys hit back however and found themselves camped on the Warriors' five-minute line and while they could not force a way through, Biggar levelled things up from the tee with 15 minutes remaining.

The visitors pushed for the win that would boost their top-four hopes but after an attack from deep with nine minutes remaining, they were stopped in their tracks by Sean Maitland.

They were rewarded for their ambition on 72 minutes however, when Biggar expertly dropped a goal.

But three minutes later, Matawalu took matters into his own hands, kicked on and Seymour scored the only try of the match. Weir missed the conversion to ensure the hosts led 11-9.

He then missed a late penalty and Warriors had a Finn Russell try disallowed for an earlier knock-on but they held on for a crucial victory.

The scorers:

For Glasgow Warriors:
Pens: Weir 2

For Ospreys:
Biggar 2
DG: Biggar


Glasgow Warriors: 15 Peter Murchie, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Finn Russell, 11 Niko Matawalu, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Greig Laidlaw (captain), 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Chris Fusaro, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Leone Nakawara, 3 Jon Welsh, 2 Pat MacArthur, 1 Gordon Reid.
Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Jerry Yanuyanutawa, 18 Moray Low, 19 Ryan Wilson, 20 Tyrone Holmes, 21 Ruaridh Jackson, 22 Richie Vernon, 23 Sean Maitland.

Ospreys: 15 Sam Davies, 14 Jeff Hassler, 13 Hanno Dirksen, 12 Jonathan Spratt, 11 Aisea Natoga, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Dan Baker, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Sam Lewis, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (captain), 4 James King, 3 Aaron Jarvis, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Duncan Jones.
Replacements: 16 Scott Otten, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Adam Jones, 19 Tyler Ardron, 20 Morgan Allen, 21 Joe Bearman, 22 Tom Habberfield, 23 Richard Fussell.

Referee: John Lacey

Chiefs vs Sharks
sast: 09h35 | local: 11h35

  • 15 | 10
Fri, 29 April 2016
Force v Bulls 11h05 Perth
Boland v Griquas 12h30 Wellington
Sale Sharks v Gloucester 18h45 AJ Bell Stadium
Treviso v Connacht 19h30 Stadio Monigo
Glasgow Warriors v Zebre 19h35 Scotstoun
Munster v Edinburgh 19h35 Irish Independent Park
Sat, 30 April 2016
Blues v Rebels 05h15 Auckland
Highlanders v Brumbies 07h35 Dunedin
Reds v Cheetahs 09h40 Brisbane
Border v Pumas 12h30 East London
Namibia v EP Kings 13h00 Windhoek
Leicester Tigers v Worcester Warriors 14h00 Welford Road
Western Province v Golden Lions 14h15 Newlands
Northampton Saints v Bath 14h15 Franklin's Gardens
Cardiff Blues v Ospreys 14h30 Millennium Stadium
Ulster v Leinster 15h00 Kingspan Stadium
Lions v Hurricanes 15h05 Johannesburg
Dragons v Scarlets 17h00 Millennium Stadium
Stormers v Waratahs 17h10 Cape Town
Jaguares v Kings 21h40 Buenos Aires
Sun, 01 May 2016
Exeter Chiefs v Wasps 12h00 Sandy Park
London Irish v Harlequins 14h00 Madejski Stadium
Saracens v Newcastle Falcons 14h15 Allianz Park
Team P W D L Pts
Leinster 20 15 0 5 68
Connacht 20 14 0 6 68
Glasgow Warriors 20 13 1 6 66
Ulster 20 12 0 8 60
Scarlets 20 13 0 7 58
Edinburgh 20 11 0 9 53
Munster 20 11 0 9 53
Cardiff Blues 20 10 0 10 52
Ospreys 20 10 1 9 49
Dragons 20 4 0 16 26
Zebre 20 4 0 16 19
Treviso 20 2 0 18 16