Homepage

Steyn gets yellow; Horne banned

Mon, 31 Mar 2014 07:04
Rob-horne-waratahs-v-sharks
One week suspension for Hames
Quote-end

SANZAR has handed out two one-week bans to players for foul play, while the Sharks' Springbok centre Frans Steyn was given an off-field yellow card.

Jannie Lubbe, the SANZAR judicial officer, accepted a guilty plea from Waratahs midfielder Rob Horne for contravening Law 10.4 (e): Dangerous tackling.

This follows after he was cited during the Sharks' 32-10 Super Rugby win over the Tahs in Durban at the weekend.

Horne has been suspended from all forms of the game for one week - up to and including April 6.

The incident occurred in the 16th minute of the match between the Sharks and Tahs at Kings Park.

Lubbe said in assessing the case he found that video evidence of the incident "clearly showed" that Horne's right arm made contact with the Sharks player, Francois Steyn, in the neck and jaw area - with what appeared to be a swinging arm.

"This was also recorded as such in the report of the citing commissioner," Lubbe said.

"Anthony Black made helpful submissions on behalf of the player, relating to the execution of the tackle and pointed out that the initial contact point of Horne's right arm was with the upper arm of Steyn and then slipped up to make contact with Steyn's neck and jaw.

"Waratahs coach Michael Cheika also explained the 'double tackle technique' that was used and submitted that the tackle went wrong, resulting in contact with Steyn's neck and jaw. There is support for this explanation in one of the angles of the video evidence.

"Black submitted that the player was guilty of breach on the alternative charge of 10.4 (e) Dangerous tackling. The incident was deemed to be at the lower end entry level.

"He has played Super Rugby for six seasons with one suspension for a lifting tackle in that time. The player pleaded guilty and accepted the sanction of one week which was reduced from two weeks due to the lower end entry point and the player's guilty plea.

"Accordingly, the player is suspended from all forms of the game up to and including April 6."

* Meanwhile Lubbe accepted a guilty plea from the Sharks player, Steyn, for contravening Law 10.4 (e): Dangerous tackling.

This follows an incident in the same match for which he was cited.

Steyn has been issued an off-field yellow card for the incident, which occurred in the 16th minute of the match.

In his finding, Lubbe ruled the following: "Video evidence of the incident showed that Steyn executed initially a legitimate tackle on his immediate opponent by grabbing the bottom of the jumper of the Waratahs player, Kurtley Beale with both hands. This was done at speed and in a dynamic situation.

"In the process of the tackle, Beale passed the ball to a teammate, but after the pass Steyn continued with the tackle by going to ground and swinging his opponent with him. This resulted in the tackled player landing on his back and his head hitting the ground with some force. The referee called for a review of the incident and having reviewed the incident, awarded a penalty against the Sharks.

"The citing commissioner correctly pointed out in his report that as a result of the late tackle, the Waratahs player was placed at risk of injury to his spinal and head area.

"Gerrie Swart submitted on behalf of the player that the initial tackle was legitimate and that Steyn had no intent of causing injury to his opponent as he was not in a position to observe that the tackled player had passed the ball.

"In assessing the circumstances around the incident, an off field yellow card was considered the appropriate sanction as a suspension was not warranted for the offence."

* In a third hearing Lubbe also accepted a guilty plea from Kane Hames of the Highlanders for contravening Law 10.4 (h): Dangerous charging.

This was a result of an incident for he was cited - in the 59th minute of the match between the Blues and Highlanders at Eden Park in Auckland at the weekend.

Hames has been suspended from all forms of the game for one week up to and including April 6.

In his finding, Lubbe ruled the following: "Video evidence of the incident clearly showed that Hames entered the ruck without using his arms and made contact with the head/neck area of the Blues player in the process. The action was not carried out with great speed and/or excessive force and I agree with the submission of Rob Harris on behalf of the player that the player clumsily executed the clearing action at the ruck without direct intent to harm his opponent.

"I also agree with the citing commissioner's assessment that the Blues player was in a vulnerable position on the ground and was exposed to risk.

"The player is a young man with a clean record and fortunately the Blues player suffered no serious injury according to the medical report filed. The incident was categorised at low entry level. The player pleaded guilty and accepted the sanction of one week which was reduced from two weeks due to the player's record and plea.

"Accordingly, the player is suspended from all forms of the game up to and including April 6."

RELATED ARTICLES