Easter in George

Tue, 08 Apr 2014 11:20
Large community cup easter

This year's Community Cup winner will be found in George over the Easter weekend.

This year's Community Cup winner will be found in George over the Easter weekend.
The excitement has begun to build in George for the second edition of the Community Cup Easter play-offs, which begins on April 17, with the South African Rugby Union (SARU) and tournament hosts, South Western Districts, ready for the club rugby showdown.
The play-offs, which feature South Africa’s eight top non-university clubs, will be hosted at Outeniqua Park from April 17 to 21, and the winners will walk away with the historic Gold Cup.
The eight teams participating in the Community Cup Easter play-offs were confirmed this past weekend in the final round of pool fixtures.
The tournament will feature Roses United, Rustenburg Impala, College Rovers, Old Selbornians, Hamiltons, Centurion, defending champions Despatch and Roodepoort. 
Four of the teams, Roses United, Hamiltons, Centurion and Old Selbornians will make their first appearance in the Easter play-offs.
"We have watched 20 teams battle it out for places in the Community Cup Easter play-offs for several weeks, and judging by the tough competition, the tournament in George should be thrilling,' said SARU CEO Jurie Roux. 
"It’s good to see a few new teams come through, as it shows that the quality of rugby at club level is improving. 
"It also serves as evidence that this competition is exactly what we needed to revive club rugby. The Easter play-offs have provided a fantastic platform for the teams to showcase their talent to a wider rugby audience and it is clear that they are serious about excelling.
"We are looking forward to the tournament, and I wish all eight teams who will be participating in the Community Cup Easter play-offs well."

Community Cup Easter Playoff schedule:

Day 1: Thursday, April 17 (kick-off times 11.15, 13.30, 15.45, 18.00; order of matches TBC):
Cup quarterfinal 1: Roses United (Winner Pool C) v Rustenburg Impala (Runner-up Pool D)
Cup quarterfinal 2: College Rovers (Winner Pool B) v Old Selbornians (Runner-up Pool A)
Cup quarterfinal 3: Hamiltons (Winner Pool D) v Centurion (Runner-up Pool C)
Cup quarterfinal 4: Despatch (Winner Pool A) v Roodepoort (Runner-up Pool B)
Day 2: Saturday, April 19 (kick-off times 12h30, 14h45, 17h00, 19h15; order of matches TBC):
Loser quarterfinal 1 vs Loser quarterfinal 2
Loser quarterfinal 3 vs Loser quarterfinal 4
Winner quarterfinal 1 vs Winner quarterfinal 2
Winner quarterfinal 3 vs Winner quarterfinal 4
Day 3: Monday, April 21 (kick-off times & match order confirmed):
09.15: 7th/8th place play-off
11.30: 5h/6th place play-off
13.45: 3rd/4th place play-off
16.00: Cup Final