FNB Classic Clash in Ermelo

Thu, 15 May 2014 09:30
Ermelo look set to continue the celebrations of their centenary

This is a new FNB Classic Clash - Hoërskool Ermelo vs Hoërskool Hoogenhout of Bethal both schools well east of Johannesburg. But then this year is Ermelo's centenary.

The FNB Classic Clash is part of their centenary celebrations.

Hoogies were founded four years after Erries but their first rugby matches were against each other. They played twice in 1918 and on each occasion Hoogenhout, then called the Bethal Hogere Skool, won - 38-5 and 9-0. Erries regard Hoogies as their most tractional rivals, which is hardly surprising as the two towns are just some 55km apart, Ermelo further east. Erries first beat Hoogies (3-0) in 1920 but have won more often than they have lost. Erries' biggest 1st XV victory was over Hoogies in 1998 when they won 83-0.

Erries have played tougher opposition than Hoogenhout have but have won just two of their seven matches. Hoogenhout have lost heavily to Bastion, Noordheuwel and Standerton while Erries' have lost narrowly to Transvalia, Rustenburg and Vereeniging Gim, heavily only to Eldoraigne.

The only opponent both teams have in common is Hoërskool Middelburg. They beat Erries 17-8 and Hoogenhout 49-7.

Ermelo look set to continue the celebrations of their centenary.


15 Teboho Gina, 14 Johan Pretorius, 13 Bongani Phangisa, 12 Russel Baloyi, 11 Ashley Methula, 10 Ruben Lello, 9  Vuyo Shabangu, 8 Philani Nkosi, 7 Pietman Erasmus, 6 Francois de Wet, 5 Louis Fourie, 4 Carel Wessels (captain), 3 Dylan Henegan, 2 Gerhard Pieterse, 1  Jaco Kriek
Replacements: 16 Armand Reynecke, 17 Waldo Botma, 18 Wiehan Steyn, 19 Dillan Booyens, 20 Louis Theron, 21 Nico Britz, 22 Shaun Jacobs, 23 Franco Oosthuizen

Ermelo: 15. Danie Kruger (captain), 14. Louwtjie Oosthuizen, 13. Ndumiso Jele, 12. JG Serfontein, 11. Leon Nkosi, 10. Tapiwa Mafura, 9. Alec McIntyre, 8. Pieter Bekker, 7. JT Erlank, 6. Daniël Visser, 5. Dewald Bothma, 4. Karl-Heinz Dedekind, 3. Carel Combrink, 2. Marco Grobler, 1. Stephen Corbitt
Replacements: 16. Juandré Muller, 17. Charl Kotze, 18. Manelisi Mdaka, 19. Jooste Minable, 20. Connie Van Niekerk, 21. Leon Visser, 22. Siyabonga Makhubu, 23. Khela Jele, 24. Pascal Mahlangu
Coach:    Koos de Jager

Date: Saturday, 17 May 2014
1st XV kick-off: 12.15
Venue: Hoërskool Ermelo
Expected weather conditions: Clear with a high of 15°C, dropping to 7°C.

*** The match will be televised live on Supersport, Channel 210.