JWC: NZ looking for home pride

Thu, 19 Jun 2014 12:48
All the teams
The Junior World Championship culminates on Friday with every team in action, each of them vying to outdo their opponents for a better final placing.
The Final between England and South Africa is clearly the match of the day, but there are a few other exciting clashes all the way down to the 11th play-off match.
New Zealand will to take third spot over fellow semi-final losers Ireland as a curtain raiser to the main Final.
France and Australia emulate their senior counter-parts in the 5th place play-off.
Meanwhile, Wales play Samoa, Argentina face Scotland in another mirror image of their senior teams, and Fiji take on Italy to round of the competition.
Having had time to review the one point loss to France on Sunday, Wales head coach Byron Hayward admits to feeling they were unfortunate to a certain extent.
"It's been a difficult few days but the players have been honest and professional in their feedback and appraisal of the game.
"We did well to come back and take the lead in the second half on Sunday, and scored two good tries against one of the best defence's in the competition.
"Our scrum was again dominant and to that end, it was disappointing not to come away with the win, but that's the nature of sport.
Australian Head Coach Adrian Thompson was confident his side could finish the tournament on a high against the Junior Six Nations Champions. 
“It’s been a great week for us in terms of training and preparation and I know the guys are excited about taking on France,” he said.
“For our development, it is really important we beat the top northern hemisphere sides and this is an achievement we are yet to tick off in the tournament. 
“France has had two tough encounters against Wales and I’m confident the squad we have selected can finish the tournament on a winning note.” 
Scotland head coach Sean Lineen said of his teams match with Argentina: "It's been an amazing experience and we want to make sure we finish on the right note.
"We'd like to be part of a winning double over Argentina tomorrow, that would be great for Scottish rugby, but obviously our focus is on our game.
"This is a huge test for us to finish 9th and we know we'll have to work incredibly hard to get that result.
Third place play-off:
Ireland v New Zealand
Ireland U20: 15 Cian Kelleher, 14 Ciaran Gaffney, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Harrison Brewer, 11 Alex Wootton, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Nick McCarthy, 8 Frank Taggart, 7 Rory Moloney, 6 Peadar Timmins (captain), 5 Ross Molony, 4 Darragh Moloney, 3 Oisin Heffernan, 2 Dylan Donnellan, 1 Peter Dooley.
Replacements: 16 Max Abbott, 17 Denis Coulson, 18 Rory Burke, 19 Stephen Gardiner, 20 Josh Murphy, 21 Ryan Foley, 22 Conor McKeon, 23 Dan Goggin.
New Zealand U20: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Vincent Tavae-Aso, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown (captain), 12 TJ Faiane, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Richard Mo'unga, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Matt Peni, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Tom Sanders, 5 Geoffrey Cridge, 4 James Tucker, 3 Tau Koloamatangi, 2 Hame Faiva, 1 Atunaisa Moli.
Replacments: 16 James O'Reilly, 17 Scott Mellow, 18 Tim Cadwallader, 19 Troy Callander, 20 Kyle Harris, 21 Josh Renton, 22 Kaveinga Finau, 23 David Kaetau Havili.
Date: June 20
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 17.05 (03.05 GMT; 04.05 BST)
Referee: Alexandre Ruiz (France)
Fifth place play-off:
Australia v France
Australia U20: 15 Jonah Placid, 14 Brad Lacey, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Jimmy Stewart, 11 Andrew Kellaway, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Angus Pulver, 8 Ross Haylett-Petty, 7 Jack Dempsey, 6 Sean McMahon (captain), 5 Jack Payne, 4 Tom Staniforth, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Harry Scoble, 1 Rory O’Connor.
Reserves: 16 Tevita Vea, 17 Cameron Orr, 18 Tom Robertson, 19 Matt Philip, 20 Rowan Perry, 21 Joe Powell, 22 David Horwitz, 23 Luke Burton.
France U20: 15 Pierre Justes, 14 Kylan Hamdaoui, 13 Xavier Mignot, 12 Francois Bouvier, 11 Lucas Blanc, 10 Brandon Fajardo, 9 Baptiste Serin, 8 Francois Cros (captain), 7 Yacouba Camara, 6 Jean-Blaise Lespinasse, 5 Jean Baptiste Singer, 4 Arthur Iturria, 3 Tommy Raynaud, 2 Romain Ruffenach, 1 Oleg Ishchenko.
Replacments: 16 Camille Chat, 17 Youssef Amrouni, 18 Simon Courcoul, 19 Felix Lambey, 20 Jean Thomas, 21 Thibault Daubagna, 22 Francois Fontaine, 23 Arthur Bonneval.
Date: June 20
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 14.35 (00.35 GMT; 01.35 Euro time; 12.35 Aus Time)
Referee: Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
Seventh place play-off:
Wales v Samoa
Wales U20: 15 Dafydd Howells, 14 Tyler Morgan, 13 Steffan Hughes (captain), 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Ashley Evans, 10 Ethan Davies, 9 Tom Williams, 8 Ben Roach, 7 Will Boyde, 6 Olly Cracknell, 5 Rory Thornton, 4 Joe Davies, 3 Nicky Thomas, 2 Scott Otten, 1 Nicky Smith.
Replacements: 16 Ethan Lewis, 17 Luke Garrett, 18 Callum Lewis, 19 Scott Andrews, 20 Scott Matthews, 21 James Benjamin, 22 Luc Jones, 23 Angus O'Brien, 24 Harri Evans.
Samoa U20: 15 Luteru Laulala, 14 Harry Luteru, 13 Joseph Ikenasio, 12 Nathaniel Apa, 11 Nu'u Nu'u, 10 William Talataina Mu, 9 Emil Pittman, 8 Sootala Fa'aso'o, 7 Richard Mariota, 6 Giovanni Habel Kueffner, 5 Cameron Skelton, 4 Jotham Wrampling, 3 Etimani Sului (captain), 2 Ieremia Mataena, 1 Fereti Saaga.
Replacments: 16 Iafeta Luamanu, 17 Andrew Lemalu, 18 Louis Kapeteni, 19 Ezra Meleisea, 20 Joe Lee, 21 Mark Talaese, 22 Penaia Penaia, 23 Aukuso Tuitama.
Date: June 20
Venue: QBE Stadium, Albany
Kick-off: 17.35 (03.35 GMT; 02.35 BST; 19.35 Samoa time)
Referee: Akihisa Aso (Japan)
Ninth place play-off
Argentina v Scotland
Argentina U20: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 German Schulz, 13 Bautista Ezcurra, 12 Tomas Granella, 11 Rodrigo Etchart, 10 Patricio Fernandez (captain), 9 Juan Bernardini, 8 Santiago Montagner, 7 Lautaro Bavaro, 6 Tomas Lezana, 5 Ignacio Calas, 4 Guido Peti Pagadizabal, 3 Tomas Ramirez, 2 Juan Ignacio Sanchez, 1 Facundo Gigena.
Replacments: 16 Ignacio David Calles, 17 Ariel Del Cerro, 18 Felipe Arregui, 19 Vittorio Tomas Rosti, 20 Jose Deheza, 21 Lautaro Bazan Velez, 22 Domingo Miotti, 23 Joaquin Riera.
Scotland U20: 15 Gavin Lowe, 14 Jamie Farndale, 13 Chris Dean, 12 Blair Hutchison, 11 Damien Hoyland, 10 Rory Hutchinson, 9 Alex Glashan, 8 Magnus Bradbury, 7 Tommy Spinks, 6 Neil Irvine-Hess, 5 Lewis Carmichael, 4 Andy Cramond, 3 D'arcy Rae, 2 James Malcolm, 1 Phil Cringle. 
Substitutes: 16 James Malcolm, 17 Jack Cosgrove, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Jamie Ritchie, 20 Shaun MacDonald, 21 Ben Vellacott, 22 Gavin Parker, 23 Sam Pecqueur.
Date: June 20
Venue: QBE Stadium, Albany
Kick-off: 15.05 (03.05 GMT; 02.05 BST; 00.05 Argentina time)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
11th Place play-off
Fiji v Italy
Fiji U20: 15 Livinai Tuicakau, 14 Adrea Cocagi (captain), 13 Poasa Waqanibau, 12 Josese Kurukava, 11 Orisi Nawaqaliva, 10 Dion Fraser, 9 Leone Nawai, 8 Marika Tokalauvere, 7 Vasikali Mudu, 6 Ameniasi Natuiyaga, 5 Simione Naiduki, 4 Lote Nasiga, 3 Apolosi Ranawai, 2 Wilisoni Lagi, 1 Jack Dreunimolea.
Replacments: 16 Semi Tuikoroalau Wakolo, 17 Samuela Tawake, 18 Aseri Robarobalevu, 19 Paula Bukavece, 20 Atonio Qio, 21 Marika Tivitivi, 22 Elia Mroisio, 23 Tubuka Vueti.
Italy: 15 Giacomo De Santis, 14 Daniele Di Giulio, 13 Mattia Bellini, 12 Matteo Gabbianelli, 11 Gabriele Di Giulio, 10 Filippo Buscema (captain), 9 Simone Parisotto, 8 Matteo Cornelli, 7 Renato Giammarioli, 6 Marco Lazzaroni, 5 Andrea Trotta, 4 Riccardo Michieletto, 3 Simone Ferrari, 2 Adriano Daniele, 1 Derrick Appiah.
Replacments: 16 Francesco Vento, 17 Paolo Buonfiglio, 18 Cherif Traore, 19 Matteo Archetti, 20 Federico Ruzza, 21 Maicol Azzolini, 22 Samuel Seno, 23 Matteo Gasparini.
Date: June 20
Venue: QBE Stadium, Albany
Kick-off: 12.35 (23.35 GMT; 11.35 Fiji Time; 01.35 EU time)
Referee: Vlad Iordachescu (Romania)