Nine changes for winless Pumas

Thu, 19 Jun 2014 19:26

Argentinean coach Daniel Hourcade has made nine changes his team as they seek their first win of the Junes Test window.

The Pumas, who lost both their encounters with Ireland, face Scotland in Córdoba on Friday.

The only players remaining in the starting XV from the 17-23 loss to Ireland last week are Manuel Carizza, Rodrigo Baez, Tomas de la Vega, Nicolás Sánchez, Manuel Montero and Lucas González Amorosino.

Scrumhalf Thomas Cubelli will captain the team for the last of their June Tests.

The inclusion of Matthias Moroni on the bench will see him involved in the squad for the first time.

Argentina and Scotland have met 16 times, with 10 wins to the Pumas and six victories for Scotland.

Their last encounter was a one-point (13-12) win by Argentina in a World Cup pool match in New Zealand.

Argentina: 15 Lucas González Amorosino, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Santiago González Iglesias, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Tomás Cubelli (captain), 8 Tomás De la Vega, 7 Javier Ortega Desio, 6 Rodrigo Báez, 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Matías Díaz, 2 Julián Montoya, 1 Bruno Postiglioni.
Replacements: 16 Santiago Iglesias Valdez, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Tomás Lavanini, 20 Antonio Ahualli de Chazal, 21 Martín Landajo, 22 Matías Moroni, 23 Joaquín Tuculet.

Date: Friday, June 20
Venue: Estadio Mario Alberto Kempes, Córdoba
Kick-off:  16.10 (19.10 GMT, 20.10 BST)
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)