More flank fatalities for Bulls

Mon, 23 Jun 2014 08:57
The Bulls have suffered another looseforward injury setback with Jacques du Plessis breaking his jaw in a physical encounter against Namibia.
Du Plessis was taken off the field with a suspected jaw injury 11 minutes into the game, this sees the big man out of the rest of Super Rugby and the start of the Currie Cup.
The Bulls came from behind to eventually run away with the game against Namibia 34 – 13, in a physical encounter that the home team dominated early in the match.
Jacques Louis Potgieter kept the Bulls in the hunt with two penalties in the first half, which was equaled by Namibian fullback Chrysander Botha. This allowed both teams to go into the break at six all.
Travis Ismaiel was another casualty of the game as he also left the field with a fractured finger.
The Namibians started the second half with a bit of a bang on got over the line seven minutes into it.
Captain Jono Ross replied two minutes later with hard fought try of his own.
It was only a matter of time before the ‘Blou Masjien’ would start to tick, and control the game.
A leaping Bjorn Basson, who finished the move in style, confidently gathered an innovative cross kick from Jacques Louis Potgieter to give the Bulls the ascendency.
With five minutes to go William Small-Smith was at the receiving end of some quick backline hands, and dived in under the posts.
Young Burger Odendaal capped of the evening with the final try in the 79 minute. 
Jacques Louis Potgieter also added two more penalties in the second half.
For the Bulls:
Tries: Ross, Basson, Small-Smith, Odendaal,
Con: Louis-Potgieter
Pens: Louis-Potgieter 4
For Namibia:
Try: David Philander 
Con: Tromp 
Pens: Botha added two penalties 
Bulls squad: Bandise Maku, Basil Short, Bjorn Basson, Bongi Mbonambi, Burger Odendaal, Christiaan de Bruin, Clyde Davids, Marvin Orie, Grant Hattingh, Jacques du Plessis, Jacques Engelbrecht, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Jono Ross (captain), Jurgen Visser, Morné Mellett, Paul Willemse, Piet van Zyl, Rudy Paige, Roelof Smit, Ryan Nell, Ulrich Beyers, Werner Kruger, William Small-Smith, Sampie Mastriet, Travis Ismaiel, Juan Schoeman.