Namibia add foreign flavour

Mon, 23 Jun 2014 09:21
Namibia have included seven foreign-based professionals in their squad to travel to Madagascar to compete in the final African World Cup qualifiers.
The team will be led by No.8 PJ van Lill and consists of 14 forwards and 12 back line players. 
A late addition is wing Danie Dames who plays for Griquas in the Currie Cup. 
The seven foreign-based professionals are Dames; fullback Chrysander Botha (Lions), wing David Philander (Poverty Bay, New Zealand), centre Johan Deysel (Leopards), flyhalf Theuns Kotze (club rugby in France), flank Rohan Kitshoff (Western Province) and No.8 Renaldo Botma (Pumas). 
The squad includes three youngsters who represented Namibia at the Junior World Rugby Trophy in Hong Kong in April.
They are centre Divan Visser, flank Awie Thompson and hooker DG Wiese. 
Namibia will play three group matches against Kenya, Zimbabwe and Madagascar. 
Namibian squad: Chrysander Botha, Danie Dames, Darryl de la Harpe, Divan Visser, Johan Deysel, Heinrich Smit, Johan Tromp, David Philander, Theuns Kotze, Justin Nel, Eniell Buitendag and Arthur Bouwer, PJ van Lill (captain), Renaldo Bothma, Rohan Kitshoff, Tinus du Plessis, Thomasau Forbes, Morne Blom, Munee Tjiueza, Awie Thompson, Andre Schlechter, Rathony Becker, Jaco Engels, Shaun du Preez, DG Wiese and Johnny Redelinghuys.