Homepage

Joubert, Walsh for play-offs

Mon, 14 Jul 2014 06:39
Craig-joubert-signal630
Amongst the best in the world
Quote-end

On Saturday, the bottom four of the top six in Super Rugby play off for places in the semifinals, against the Waratahs and the Crusaders.

The referees for these two crucial matches are Craig Joubert of South Africa and Steve Walsh of Australia.

A New Zealand team is involved in each of the play-offs.

The two chosen referees are amongst the best and most experienced in the rugby world.

Joubert has, amongst many other top matches, refereed finals of the World Cup, Super Rugby and the Currie Cup.

Walsh has just overtaken Jonathan Kaplan as the referee who has refereed most Super Rugby matches.

He made his Test debut in 1998 - at the age of 23. A New Zealander, he now lives in Australia and referees as an Australian referee.

Appointments

The referee in Canberra will be Craig Joubert of South Africa who is already in Australasia after refereeing

Brumbies v Chiefs
(GIO Stadium, Canberra - Kick-off:  19.40; 21.40 NZST, 11.40 SAST, 09.40 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Rohan Hoffmann (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

Sharks v Highlanders
(Kings Park, Durban - 17.05; 03.05, Sunday, July 20 NZT; 01.05, Sunday, July 20 AEST, 15.05 GMT)
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Cobus Wessels (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

RELATED ARTICLES