ON THE EDGE

Then there was four

Sat, 19 Jul 2014 19:19
Super-rugby-trophy

The race for the 2014 Super Rugby crown is down to four teams, with the Sharks and Brumbies securing their passage to the semifinals with victory over the Highlanders and Chiefs respectively.

As the lowest-ranked qualifier, the Brumbies will make the short 280km trip to face the top-ranked Waratahs in what looms as a thrilling Australian derby clash on Saturday.

Preceding that match, the South African conference champion Sharks return to Christchurch for a re-match against the Crusaders, who they beat by five points in Round 14.

Super Rugby semifinals:

Saturday, July 26

Crusaders v Sharks
Venue: AMI Stadium, Christchurch, New Zealand
Kick-off: 19.35 (17.35 AEST; 09.35 SAST; 07.35 GMT)

Waratahs v Brumbies
Venue: Allianz Stadium, Sydney, Australia
Kick-off: 19.40 (21.40 NZT; 11.40 SAST; 09.40 GMT)

* Referee appointments for the semifinals will be advised early in the week.

Should any Super Rugby play-off matches end with the scores level, the following will apply until a winner is determined:
a) Extra time played in two periods of 10 minutes
b) Sudden death extra time in a period of up to 10 minutes
c) A kicking competition featuring five players from each team

RELATED ARTICLES